For Aunt Becky

1 Apr

This blog post is dedicated to Aunt Becky, who I love, and who might give me an Amazon gift card if she loves me enough in return:
Mommy Wants Vodka

I’ve been having issues.  Frankly, I’ve been thinking about antidepressants.  For a while there, I cried a lot.  Sometimes I still do, and I feel like I overreact to… well, the world.  I’ve been having more than a few days where the world felt overwhelming, and where I felt like it was all just too much.  I would never hurt myself, so nothing like that.

I talked to friends, who told me to get help if I thought I needed it.  But how do I know if I need it?

I talked to my mom, who said I definitely wasn’t myself, and should get help.  But what if this is the “new” me?

I talked to my Dad, who said that counselors are an unhelpful lot at best, and I’d probably be fine if I got more sleep.  But how do I get more sleep with a baby at home?

Finally, I talked to my husband.  He said I was fine, and would be even better if I took advantage of the nice Spring weather to get out of the house sometimes.  He said we’d get the second car fixed this month so that I could visit friends every now and then.  Then he stopped talking, wrapped his arms around me, and helped me remember that I AM still me.  And I think I’m just fine.

God, I love that man.

5 Responses to “For Aunt Becky”

  1. Brandee April 1, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    What a fantastic husband. :)

  2. n April 1, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    sorry you have been feeling blue. we are looking forward to seeing you when the car is fixed – but i am always here if you need anything.

  3. Bex April 2, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    Lemme know when you wanna get the car fixed if you need me to follow you! <3

  4. Beautiful Mess April 4, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    Good for you for talking to Aaron! I know I always feel better when I talk to Dirty. I think sometimes he knows me better than I know myself.

    I hope you’re able to get out of the house and start feeling well soon.
    *HUGS*

  5. Minoa April 8, 2010 at 10:58 am #

    I felt a lot better when I talked to my husband too.
    Personally, I did not want to ask for help. I had a horrible experience asking for help. But when I realized I still wasn’t getting better, I did go to therapy and it has been a mood saver.
    Everyone is different and only you know what you need. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

