Tug

14 Oct

Sometimes I am affected deeply by things I wasn’t expecting. Sometimes it is a person, or a particular song. Sometimes it is a smell that reminds me of being a kid, or my grandmother’s perfume…

The last thing to do this for me, really move me, was Rome. The Eternal City. It is a being unto itself, like nowhere else I have ever been. It is a city of amazing tastes, ancient sites, and legendary fashion.

My time in Rome was an absolute revelation on so many levels. I was taking classes while I was there, but still the Roman way, the Dolce Vita, was infectious. I found peace in unlikely places. I saw works of art I had studied and combed over and researched for weeks and months and years. I saw things that I had only read about in books.

The first time I stepped off of a bus in Rome and saw the Colosseum, the real thing, I cried a little. I felt something powerful there, something that pulled my heart strings. I experienced the kindness of strangers, some of whom were willing to literally lay on the ground to take a good picture of me.

Since I have come home, almost a year and a half ago now, I miss it all the time. I think about the smells and the sounds, and even how dirty my feet were every night after walking those ancient dusty streets. I miss sitting on a Roman rooftop and looking down on the street below. I miss standing in the presence of prophets, goddesses, angels, heroes, Gorgons, rulers, and saints. In five weeks I saw hundreds of wonders, ate food I can now only dream about, and I knew a side of the world I’d never known.

No one there hated me. No one made me feel fat. Men were sweet and romantic, they asked for my number, and they treated me with respect.

The language is beautiful. It winds and flows and and swirls around you like you, and only you, are meant to hear it. Even if you don’t understand a word, it’s hard to miss the meaning.

I am not Italian by blood and yet, my heart longs for Italy.

7 Responses to “Tug”

  1. Elizabeth October 15, 2006 at 3:09 am #

    beautiful pictures and words, makes me want to go there! I believe in reincarnation, and I think sometimes the places we are pulled to over other is because we lived there at one point. 🙂

  2. Chica October 15, 2006 at 9:07 am #

    Rome is my all time dream destination. I would LOVE to go, especially after reading your post! x

  3. Wondy October 15, 2006 at 1:33 pm #

    I love this post, it conjures up wonderful imagery.

    And it’s how I hope to feel about a place one day, though I love many, I always feel as though I am still searching for the place to give my heart away to.

  4. Oh, The Joys October 15, 2006 at 2:14 pm #

    I loved Rome too!

  5. Jess October 17, 2006 at 8:46 am #

    Rome really is amazing, isn’t it? I was in Italy for a month last year, living in Verona. I visited Milan, Venice, and several other small towns in northern Italy, but nothing came close to the weekend trip I took to Rome.

  6. Bill October 19, 2006 at 1:33 pm #

    I’ve been to Italy many times but your words on Rome push me to go there this Spring even more. I’ve enjoyed your photos and your blog. I’ll be sending your comments to my friend who was in my booth in Annapolis in June which I know she’ll love. Hope you are to return again soon to “la dolce vita”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Yummy Sushi Pajamas - March 18, 2007

    […] Rome to write about our experience with la città eterna. I know I talked about my time in Rome once in October, but I couldn’t resist the chance to revisit my meeting with the city of my […]

Leave a Reply

