I dig nerds…

12 Nov

I spent all day yesterday at a seminar called “The Figure in Ancient Art.” It turns out that I am a massive nerd, because I loved every second of it. There were five speakers who talked about Egyptian, Mesopotamian, Greek, and Roman works of art that depicted the human body. I thought it was amazing, and it made me aboslutely sure that I want to concentrate on that time period (if given a choice) in grad school.

We also had lunch at a Greek festival down the street, which was a lot of fun and had amazing food. I saw two of my professors, who were both rather glad to see me and introduced me to other people with grand exaggerations like “she got an almost perfect score on the GRE” and “she’s going to Georgetown.” Almost perfect is really stretching, and I won’t even hear back from Georgetown until February. All the same, I certainly don’t mind the approval of professors, and I also got hugged!

Even better, I got to hang out with the infamous BK!  Here we are hanging around in the kids’ castle at the museum:

11.11.06 Castle Girls

4 Responses to “I dig nerds…”

  1. Wondy November 12, 2006 at 12:23 pm #

    Yey for being a nerd! I love nerds. I am one. I also spent the day in a gallery – you’re seminar sounds really interesting. Also, double yey for being so smart!

  2. Wondy November 13, 2006 at 12:14 am #

    Ah BK rocks, I love that picture!

  3. firefightersdaughter November 14, 2006 at 12:54 am #

    The kids castle looks like way more fun than a regular exhibit! 🙂

  4. BK November 14, 2006 at 11:55 am #

    HAHAHA. Twice! Twice in the blog. Who doesn’t love to be super nerdy though?!

    P.S. Don’t tell anyone how conceited I am… I like to read about myself. lol.

Leave a Reply

