Greedy Bastards

21 Nov

We provide a free computer with internet access in our office so that students can access their records, program applications, etc.

Sometimes, when students are early for appointments or something,  we let them use the computer for non-business related things.  After all, they are here for the right reasons.  It won’t kill anyone for them to check their email while they wait for an inevitably late counselor to meet with them.

It’s the others that bother me.   The ones who don’t have any business with us but know, somehow, that we have a computer.  They come in, use it, and then complain about it being slow.  They print things, use our paper, and half the time the printer breaks.  They want to use my phone.  (Um, no?  Two words there:  Ear. Germs.)  They get all huffy and irritated when I tell them to go away.

I want to know where a bunch of eighteen year olds got this sense of entitlement.  I was never that way.  No really, I called my mother and checked.  I had my fair share of annoying habits, but entitlement was never one of them.

Humph!

4 Responses to “Greedy Bastards”

  1. iamthesky November 21, 2006 at 11:29 pm #

    Hahaha. I think perhaps the real problem is they are not bastards at all. No bastard child would have such a sense of entitlement. lol. I may not even be that they are eighteen… perhaps it is because they are from New York or New Jersey. I’ve come to realize, through my line of work, the majority of people from the aforementioned places are rather snappy and posess that same sense of entitlement. It’s something in the water, obviously.

  2. iamthesky November 21, 2006 at 11:30 pm #

    Also… I am unable to spell and/or type today.

  3. Wondy November 22, 2006 at 1:11 am #

    I so know what you mean here, I see it in kids even younger than that too. I was never like that either (I also checked). Ok, I had my nightmare moments but never that.

    Grrrr

  4. rainypete November 22, 2006 at 1:55 am #

    You should rig the printer on a remote control. When one of these mental midgets starts throwing themselves around then you can disable the printer and feign ignorance.

Leave a Reply

