New

26 Nov

Today I had a new and refreshing realization.

I would not trade me in for someone else.  Now, this has always been true about certain aspects of my life.  I would never have traded my amazing husband or my awesome family.  That being said, I have had more than my fair share of times I would gladly have traded with someone else based on body image issues.

Today, all of a sudden, I felt differently.  I don’t love my body right now, but in the end I still wouldn’t trade it for a thinner woman’s body, even if I got to keep the rest of my life in tact.  Frankly, I’ve gotten quite used to my body and its various issues.  I sort of like it.  I’d really like for there to be ever so much less of it, but I still like it.

Weird, since I gained back four pounds.

3 Responses to “New”

  1. Wondy November 26, 2006 at 3:16 am #

    That is fab news – very inspiring attitude to have, too. Oh god, and on the day Wondy bought a bikini, too.

    Yippee – our bodies are temples, no matter what!

  2. iamthesky November 26, 2006 at 10:45 am #

    Aww. I think you are beautiful no matter what. Perhaps you have gained muscle from yoga and such, this would explain the extra numbers on the scale. Also, depending on what time of day you weighed yourself there could be a flux, it’s always best to wake up, pee, and then weigh yourself… that’s when people are the lightest.

    I’m glad that you have come to terms with not trading yourself, however I really wish you loved all of you a whole bunch. But, I understand body image issues… yeah, we’ve talked about that before. I’ve found that not getting on a scale under any circumstances is good. It’s a reallllly difficult habit to break, but it’s better to go by if you feel physically fit. Scales are not nice and never have anything nice to say, they don’t help with anything besides making one obsessive about numbers, and standing on them is always degrading. You should tell that scale to f-off! 😉

    Hearts and stuff!

  3. Oh, The Joys November 27, 2006 at 5:31 pm #

    Try the threading.

Leave a Reply

