2007

29 Dec

The new year is not far off. In fact, I wish I had a little more time before it was suddenly 2007. However, now is as good a time as any to look back for a moment before looking ahead.

In 2006, I had a lot to think about. I did some things well, and others not so well.

The Good:

I kept my GPA intact.

I survived working two jobs.

I spent good time with friends and family.

I made some new friends.

I enjoyed a happy marriage.

I safely came through a cancer scare and abdominal surgery.

I landed a job at a place that could easily become a career.

I learned to knit.

I read several “just for fun” books.

And The Bad:

I gained back the weight I had lost.

I failed in my pact to be under a certain weight before Christmas.

I lost my precious grandfather.

I suffered some serious disappointments from good friends.

I made so little money that I worried about bills.

I had to take a time extension on my thesis.

All in all, the good MORE than outweighs the bad. The truth is that my life IS, in fact, rather fabulous. This is due in no small part to Mr. Pants and the Amazing Sushi Support Network.

To Mr. Pants – I don’t know where to begin. You take care of me. You treat me like a queen. You keep my heart safe. You always make me smile. You look at me like I am beautiful even when I am sure I’m not, and you make me want to be the best woman I can be.

Sushi Mom and Dad – You taught me to be proud of me. You love all of us kids like we are the only things that matter. I can tell you both anything, and you never stop loving me. You’re ready with a hug, and you give even when you can’t afford to.

Wondy – What can I say? I met you when I fell in love with your blog. You are sweet and fun and funny, and you have always been there for me, even though we have never met. I know that meeting you will just make things better, because you couldn’t possibly be any cooler. You’re amazing.

Jen – I love new friends, especially when they are as smart as me, like sushi, and have men who don’t suck.

Bex – You are an absolute inspiration. You write like a pro. You have been through things I might never be able to understand, but you still spend every day thinking of others before yourself. My New Year’s wish for you is that you learn to see yourself the way we all do: beautiful, intelligent, and priceless.

Brandi – How cool are you? We are becoming real live friends over the internet. You understand my weight issues, and you’re awesome. You’re cute and sweet and so wonderful to talk to. I hope you and that cutie husband of yours have a wonderful new year.

Chica – You are so gorgeous and completely funny. I swear that if I ever find myself anywhere near Liverpool, I’ll be showing up on your doorstep.

Little Princess – You have it tough sometimes, but I cannot explain how much I adore you. I will be here for you no matter what happens. You deserve the world.

Bre – You are too cool for words. I am so glad we met. I hope you know how awesome I think you are, and how much I love your blog. Hang in there, and try not to commit studenticide.

Jesus Antonio – You are an artistic genius. Thanks for an unforgettable gift!

Pete – You rock. Thanks for the great blog, and all of the lovely compliments. I will totally chase you around if I lived in Canada. And I wasn’t married. And you weren’t. So if the world were utterly different in several ways.

Mac – Great recipes and awesome picture ideas! I love your political ideas, blogging, and you’re a photographic inspiration.

Y – Two words: comic genius. Of course that would be leaving out other really important things like beautiful, great mom, and super fab aerobic dancer.

For the new year, I have big plans. Here’s a month-by-month run down.

January – Turn in thesis. Survive Greece. Do not lose/break new camera.

February – Celebrate love. Survive the new semester. Have party when grad school results come in.

March – Present thesis in public. Do not faint/puke/die. Celebrate birthday.

April – Three year anniversary. Present research to museum job.

May – GRADUATE!!!

June – Take two extra classes so they don’t take away my degree.

July – Sleep alot. Read books for fun. Spend time with friends.

August – Prepare for the beginning of grad school.

September – Don’t die.

October – Renaissance Festival. Halloween. Don’t die.

November – Eat too much turkey. Don’t die.

December – Stress out a little. Don’t spend so much on Christmas. Remember why I love husband, friends, and family. Don’t die.

I think this is a pretty solid plan. Don’t you? I wanted really badly to put “lose some freaking weight” on there somewhere, but I always do that and it never seems to work out. So this year, let’s just consider it an unacknowledge but obvious goal.

To all of my friends and family – have a wonderful new year. Go after your dreams. Remember that being nice is no good if you are never nice to yourself. Lonely is better than miserable, and NOT the same thing. You have people in the world who love you, and I am one of them. I am here if you need me, no matter who you are. Now go, do something fun and relaxing.

One Response to “2007”

  1. Brandi January 2, 2007 at 1:27 pm #

    You are the sweetest, Heather. 🙂 I’m so proud of everything you’ve accomplished this year. ’07 is gonna be even better!

    P.S. Expect an e-mail from me soon! I promise!

Leave a Reply

