Greece – January 19th

27 Jan

We’re on the way back to Heraklion for one day. On the way we’re stopping at the ruins of a Minoan town in Thylissos. The Blue Guide makes it sound pretty awesome. There are three relatively intact homes there.

Apparently there has been some complaining about the trip not being totally set in stone. I think that is completely ridiculous! First of all, we are in an amazing and beautiful country full og exciting sites, awesome food, and friendly people – be grateful for the opportunity. Secondly, there are always going to be last minute changes on ANY trip, especially an overseas one to a country that thinks nothing of closing because they want to versus sticking to posted hours. Third, we’re already doing so much here! Several of the changes have left us with some much needed time to relax and sleep. This has been a fabulous trip so far and I am having a wonderful time. The professor, Eleni, and our bus driver have worked really hard to give us a really wonderful experience. The people on this trip are surprisingly ridiculous.

The Mediterannean is so beautiful. I know that I could live here and honestly be happy. Things make sense here and life seems simpler. I want to live here. I want my life to be about fresh olive oil, mountain goats, and ruins. I want to have a good reason to own a Vespa and be perpetually tan. I want to raise my children in an environment where being bi- or even trilingual is not only cool but necessary.

**Added note: If I live in the Mediterannean, it is an excuse for everyone to come there to see me!!!**

One Response to “Greece – January 19th”

  1. iamthesky January 28, 2007 at 9:47 pm #

    hehehe. I would most certainly come visit you.

Leave a Reply

