Greece – January 20th

27 Jan

We didn’t get our wakeup call this morning so I woke up cranky.  All that changed when we stopped at the Monastery of the Virgin of the Tender Heart.  Here are women who are so devoted to God that they have spent their entire lives in prayer and meditation, making it their mission to serve God.  It makes me want to reevaluate my life.  I’m not saying I’m ready to take my vows or anything, but I want to reconsider the things I spend my time and energy on.

The professor made her third attempt to kill me today.  The first time was our night in Athens where, at the end of a long day, she took us up a half mile of stairs to get to the taverna.  The second time was when she made us climb the mountain in Arkhanes to see the Mycenean cemetery.  Today’s attempt involved climbing the mountain to see the cave of Psychro, where Zeus was supposedly born.  Fortunately for all involved, I am surprisingly difficult to get rid of.  The cave was actually pretty cool and the walk back down the mountain was MUCH easier.

We stopped at a taverna owned by friends of Eleni and I ate the most amazing soup in the world for lunch.  Fasolada is WORLD CHANGING.  Go make some now.

The bus ride to Ierapetra was a nice chance to relax and take a short nap.  Our hotel here is literally on the beach and the view is really beautiful.  I am a little disappointed by the area though.  It is pretty run down and everything is shut down for the winter.

Everyone is going out to a club tonight, but the Minotauraki (Steen, Manda, and I) are staying home to get some sleep and avoid the expense of a night out.

It seems like the trip is really winding down fast, and I am both sad and excited.  I absolutely cannot wait to get home to Mr. Pants.

Today I decided to make an awards list for everyone:

Steen – Best Minotaur, Most Likely to Make a Nun Cry (which she did when she donated twenty euro to the monastery)

Manda – Best Iconic Fashion (she had a little striped hat that we saw on an icon)

Other awards include:

Most Ghetto Fabulous, Most Amazing Turnaround, Nicest Stolen Roomate, Best Latin Dancer, Most Clueless About Orthodoxy, Most Likely to Malign Another’s Religion, Most High Maintenance, Highest Blood Alcohol Level, Nicest Guy, Biggest Follower, Most Likely to Become One Another, Most Porkshops Consumed, Most Forgetful, Most Likely Not to Show, Most Likely to Make an Unintentional Racial Slur, Most Likely to Adopt a Pack of Americans, Best Reckless Driver, and Best Whale (that was actually a whale, a stuffed one)

We have a lot to do in the next couple of days. so hopefully I will be too busy to be sad about leaving here. It’s been a very bittersweet experience this whole time.  I miss home and I am less impressed with Crete than I was with Rome in a lot of ways.  On the other hand, I have seen and done some really amazing things in a really short period of time.

I’m pretty happy with how much walking I’ve managed to do while here, but I feel really huge lately and I think I might have gained weight being here.  It makes me sad to think about it…

I miss Mr. Pants right now.  I can’t wait to see him again.

Leave a Reply

