Weekend Worrier

3 Feb

We’ve spent the day at home, cleaning the carpets (him) and doing homework (me).  Tonight we’re off to a friend’s birthday dinner.   I am caught up in thinking about two completely different things…

#1 – Even though I am rather… erm… chubby… I often have issues if I wait to long to eat.  This never makes sense to me because I always wonder why my body doesn’t just, you know, eat the fat?  Anyway, if I go too long between meals (more than five or six hours usually) I get all weak and dizzy.  The longer I wait, the worse I feel and the less I want to eat.  The longer I don’t eat, the sicker I feel.  This phenomenon mystifies Mr. Pants, who can go days only eating one meal a day and be fine.  I imagine this explains why he is thin, but again… how does his body run with no food and no fat to eat in an emergency?  It’s a mystery.

#2 – I’d like to ask everyone’s opinion.  There is a story behind this, of course, but I don’t want to talk about it until people weigh in on the issue…  So.  You’re a homeowner (which I am not, so this isn’t about me) and you’ve ordered a package to be delivered.  You can track the package online to see when it will arrive, which you may or may not have done.  All the same, it arrives the day after a minor winter storm.  You’ve not yet cleared your driveway, and the delivery man slips and falls on the ice.  Nothing is broken, but he is in a lot of pain.  Who is at fault?  Does the delivery man have grounds for anger or even legal action because he’s hurt himself in the attempt to deliver your package?  Should he simply have been more careful?  Are you liable for not having cleared your driveway?  Should HE be responsible for his injuries, or for your anger had he chosen not to deliver the package as scheduled?

I have a definite bias in this issue and already know my own answers.  If you know me really well, you might know how I feel too.  All the same, I want unbiased opinions, and I will reveal the story later.

Now, back to reading about the history of photography.

2 Responses to “Weekend Worrier”

  1. Wondy February 3, 2007 at 6:13 pm #

    I totally get the first one – I am the same – I’m not even joking I think about that subject myself – like today I skipped lunch and my head is banging and I feel lightheaded and nauseous – and I’m more than a little plump, believe me – isn’t it supposed to be like camels and their water storage, all this fat? You’d think I could survive weeks on my bottom cheeks alone.

    Very strange.

    The second point I must give my time to think about. What with the dizzyness caused by lack of lunch, that is…

    x

  2. Jason Rohrblogger February 4, 2007 at 5:38 am #

    In California, the homeowner would have some liability just because the guy was on the homeowner’s property when he slipped. How much liability (5%? 90%?) would have to be worked out by the insurance companies for the delivery company and the homeowner. If they can’t reach an agreement, then it goes to court and a judge decides. Almost nobody is happy with the outcome. Welcome to tort law…

Leave a Reply

