Amends

5 Feb

Of course, Mr. Pants and I are fine.  We will always be.  We are more important to one another than anything else in the world.

We were quiet for a while, needing to stew in our own thoughts.  Then we were, slowly but surely, speaking kindly to one another.  Then came hugs and apologies and explanations.

In the end, the disagreement doesn’t matter.  We will live our lives for the moments we have now.  If a time comes when we are prepared to seriously consider life in another place, we will discuss it then.  Until then, we will concentrate on making the absolute best of our lives now.

Rome can wait, or never happen at all.  We will go one day, to visit and take in the sights.  If that is all there ever is for me and Rome, so be it.  As long as I have Mr. Pants, who looks at me just so and tells me he thinks I am beautiful, my life is a good one.

5 Responses to “Amends”

  1. Bre February 5, 2007 at 3:39 pm #

    Damnit, now I really want a clone!

  2. Brandi February 5, 2007 at 4:22 pm #

    I love and hate the compromise of marriage. I’m glad you talked things out. I pray you two get to visit one day together. Regardless of what happens, you have your love and that’s the most important thing in the world. 🙂

  3. Tara February 6, 2007 at 11:29 am #

    That’s good you could work it out. My soon to be ex and I had a disagreement on where to move. I wanted to move 20 minutes away. He wanted to stay put. In our case, there were mitigating, underlying, unknown to me factors involving his family. Now I’m moving, alone. And that’s the best choice for me.

    You’re a lucky woman if you’re so happy with your Mr. Pants. I wish you nothing but joy with him.

  4. Chica February 6, 2007 at 12:28 pm #

    Glad you sorted things out. You never know what’s around the corner in life and where it might take you. You should always hold on to your dreams – especially the unrealistic ones! You never know, maybe you’ll visit Rome together one day and he’ll fall in love with it too. Either way, you’re right, you’ve got each other and that’s the important thing! Much love x x x

  5. rainypete February 8, 2007 at 11:18 am #

    Nobody said being married is easy. The good part is that if you do it right it doesn’t matter if it’s easy or not. It is wonderful in spite of it all. You can disagree and have it out, but if you can get past those differences and still accept each other then you are set indeed.

    I’m glad you two are still doing well. Love trumps geography an day of the week.

Leave a Reply

