Confessional

23 Feb

I have a confession to make, and I am terrified. So, let’s go somewhere safe.

confessional

I am terrified people will be disappointed, but…  I am not going to graduate school.

We had a big career day thing at school today (specifically for my field) and it occurred to me that I don’t wanna.  I don’t want to fight with people in order to have one of five jobs.  I love the field, but I don’t actually care what I do for a living.  My career is NEVER NEVER going to be a priority for me.  All I want is to be able to make enough money to live comfortably, and after discussion with Mr. Pants I know it’s an amount I can manage right now, without any more stressful and time consuming and offensively expensive schooling.  And so…  No more.

When this thought occured to me, I thought I should make a list of the reasons why I would want to go to school.  When the top two reasons were that I didn’t want to disappoint people’s expectations, I knew I had to think really hard about the decisions I was making.

I am terrified of what people will say.  People have already suggested that I would be wasting my life if I didn’t continue with school.  I feel like I am putting off my life to keep going.  I want to HAVE my life, START living.  I want to have BABIES!!!!!

So what?  Am I a huge disappointment?

10 Responses to “Confessional”

  1. Bre February 23, 2007 at 4:28 pm #

    Of course you aren’t!

    One of my coworkers is working on her PhD and she tells me all the time, “This is a waste.” Why? Because she can do the job without it, she does it well without it, and getting it doesn’t mean anything especially riveting in a job related way for her. It’s just something that her parents pushed her towards… something fancier for her business cards.

    And really, you’re one smart cookie without it! I say good for you for prioritizing… now get out there and make us a little baby pants! 🙂

  2. Wondy February 23, 2007 at 4:39 pm #

    I’ve emailed my response. You rock!

  3. Tara February 23, 2007 at 4:57 pm #

    Heather,
    I’m giving you a standing ovation. Good for you for standing up for what you really want. Something must be in the air, because I’m doing something, that I just told everybody about, that they all don’t agree with. But like you know, this life is all we’ve got and we have to do what makes us happy. Bravo!!! Make yourself happy!!!!!!!!

  4. Oh, The Joys February 23, 2007 at 5:12 pm #

    How does the saying go, “To thine own self be true” – or something like that?

  5. Brandi February 23, 2007 at 6:22 pm #

    — So what? Am I a huge disappointment?

    Heck.no. You are awesome, Heather. I admire you for standing up for what you want and following your heart. School seems to take a lot of out of you and I know you’ll be happier doing what you love. 🙂

  6. Elizabeth February 23, 2007 at 9:45 pm #

    Oh goodness do I know how you feel!!!!!

    I haven’t gone to traditional college, and I’m doing school for Medical Transcription so that I can hopefully stay at home w/kids when I have them but still be able to contribute financially. Like you, career isn’t my focus in life..but because it’s the focus of most of the people in our world (boiling down to money) I feel bad about it..CONSTANTLY.

    Knowledge is never a bad thing, but if it’s causing more grief than good then what is the point? If you feel like you want to move on then you should. Plus, you dont HAVE to go to school at this moment..if in 10 years from now you decide you want more education, you can get it…or not. I sturggle with this too but its YOUR life and your happiness is important, not making society happy w/you.

  7. sognatrice February 24, 2007 at 3:21 am #

    You’ve thought a lot about this and have input from the most important person in your life; you both agree, so to me, this is a no-brainer. Now go live!!! In bocca al lupo 🙂

  8. Jason Rohrblogger February 24, 2007 at 5:34 am #

    I have some extra babies lying around here you can have. Low miles. Clean. Free to good home…

  9. Chica February 24, 2007 at 8:06 am #

    You should do whatever makes you happy, chick. We only get one chance at this life. You have the right to make that choice. It’s a big one to make and a brave one at that, but I’m sure my girl Heather is up to it! x

  10. rainypete February 25, 2007 at 11:06 pm #

    You need to listen to you and your heart. If grad school isn’t in the plans that’s not necessarily a bad thing. You learn a lot more in life than you do in school. The big difference is the reading isn’t assigned….you just find what you like and consume at will.

    Enjoy your life and don’t dwell on “failed” plans as they pave the way to now options. Some of my biggest failures have lead to spectacular successes.

Leave a Reply

