For the Birds

5 Mar

Wow – what I weekend I’ve had. I have so much to tell you all!

First things first, I went to a Weight Watchers meeting. Check it out here. Short version, it was not as stimulating as I might have hoped. That was Saturday morning.

Saturday night, we went to the United Way Benefit Mardi Gras Ball.
03.03.07 Mardi Gras Ball 8

We had a WONDERFUL time. Everyone was dressed up all fancy, and we got a chance to listen to live music and eat some great food. Two wonderful friends from Mr. Pants’ work were there as well, and we got the chance to catch up with them. It was the best birthday in a long time!

This morning, we went up to my parents house, where several exciting things happened. First, I hosted my very first Tastefully Simple Party!
03.04.07 Tastefully Simple Beer Bread

The party was wonderful. All of my mother’s awesome friends came, and we had a really great time. I couldn’t have asked for a better first experience. Now I can’t wait to do it again!

While we were having the party, my dad and Mr. Pants took the dogs (Savannah, and the two my parents have) out to a field by their house to run around. This kept them out from under our feet, and gave them some much needed/appreciated exercise. They had a great time, until the dogs found a bur patch. They came home COVERED in tiny little prickly burs and had to be rather unfortunately cut to get them all out. Here’s Savannah about halfway through the removal process:
03.04.07 Briar Pup 3

You can’t tell from the small picture, but if you check them out on Flickr you can see how terribly tangled she managed to get! She ended up with a choppy home haircut afterward. I’ll get pictures tomorrow, when she is feeling less traumatized.

Finally, I got the chance to celebrate my birthday with my family, and my friend Tara, who I have know since high school.
03.04.07 Day One Fifty Seven - Birthday 14

We had a wonderful cake, lots of singing, and too many silly pictures.  All in all, the weekend was absolutely wonderful.  I couldn’t have asked for a better birthday!

8 Responses to “For the Birds”

  1. Jason Rohrblogger March 5, 2007 at 1:38 am #

    Here’s hoping all of your birthday dreams come true! Except for that one about the Haitian midget lumberjack…

  2. iamthesky March 5, 2007 at 9:25 am #

    Pooooor Savannah!!!!!!!! Awww. Although, she looks as if she knows she’s done something none too good. 😉

  3. sognatrice March 5, 2007 at 11:22 am #

    Auguroni!!!!!!

  4. Bre March 5, 2007 at 11:37 am #

    Poor Savannah! Juneau got all muddy and tangled this weekend too, so I had to attack her with several brushes and some scisors. She is not a happy puppy.

  5. Oh, The Joys March 5, 2007 at 4:08 pm #

    The b-day picture face is so cute, sister!

  6. caryn March 5, 2007 at 7:44 pm #

    Happy Birthday! Love the pic of you with the cake. 🙂

  7. Chica March 6, 2007 at 6:49 am #

    Yay!! Heather knows how to party – and it seems Savannah does too! x

  8. rainypete March 7, 2007 at 9:33 pm #

    See what I get for going away?! You got older! Congratulations girl….I hope this year brings you good fortune and direction…….and a lot less doggie burrs.

Leave a Reply

