Pain Without Love

14 Mar

Tonight Steen and I saw the WORST. PLAY. EVARRRR!!!

Here is the description from the campus website:
A modern poetic adaptation of Euripides’ The Trojan Women, the story of the fallen royalty of Troy is offset and illuminated by the chorus of five distinct women whose voices become increasingly unified as the tragedy mounts. Cassandra’s prophecies link her to the present with speech that is frenzied, vulgar and wild.

I could have described it more fittingly thus: A modern craptastic adaption of Euripides’ play that is sure to have the famed ancient author rolling in his grave and petitioning God. The story of fallen Troy is ruined by wooden acting, horrifyingly bad dramatics, ridiculous set pieces, and completely inappropriate modernization. Cassandra is a crazy ass loon. The only guy worth it at all, playing Menelaus, was completely drowned out by the idiocy of the whole event.

I almost hurt myself trying not to laugh. THIS, my dear friends, is why I do not attend university theater.

4 Responses to “Pain Without Love”

  1. steen March 14, 2007 at 1:03 am #

    WORST. PLAY. EVER.

    and with that said, i’m going to bed for REAL now.

  2. Bre March 14, 2007 at 4:28 pm #

    I saw an equally bad play done by my students for Black History Month… got the church giggles really bad… had to fake an incoming cell phone call to escape!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hide Your Foodstuffs « Yummy Sushi Pajamas - April 29, 2007

    […] good movie. I like the adaptation, and I am sort of picky about those… Remember my opinion of Troy Women? I HATED that […]

  2. Grad « Yummy Sushi Pajamas - May 25, 2007

    […] student speaker at our commencement was  one of the stars of the worst play I have ever, ever seen.  Her speech was entirely too earnest, and seem painfully rehearsed, like a middle schooler […]

Leave a Reply

