I Heart Ikea

17 Mar

I don’t mean to totally discredit BK’s Ikea post, but Mr. Pants and I had an AWESOME day today and Ikea had a lot to do with it.

First, we went to see his Gramma at her new apartment. It’s in an independent living facility, which means there are nurses and such on staff, but she can mostly come and go as she pleases. She doesn’t get a TON of visitors, so we try to go as often as possible. She’s really a wonderful woman, and we sat and talked with her for two hours. It was awesome. As soon as the weather gets nicer, we are going to take her into DC to see the new National Museum of the American Indian. Mr. Pants and I went once last year, but we didn’t get to see much because we arrived just before it closed for the day. If we take her down there we can all explore it together, and we love the chances to spend time with her!

After our visit, we went to Ikea for lunch. Yes, I did say “for lunch.” Of course, we had swedish meatballs:

whiched they served, as pictured, with gravy and this awesome Lingonberry sauce.  SO good on the meatballs that we bought a jar to take home and make chicken with…  followed by apple cake, and daim torte (chocolate almond toffee cake.)

The food was absolutely fabulous, and we paid $15 for the whole thing. Now I wish there was one closer to us, because the food was SO good. If you’re anywhere near an Ikea, go eat. I hear their breakfasts are awesome as well.

Who knows. Maybe I can convince BK to try it again.

4 Responses to “I Heart Ikea”

  1. iamthesky March 17, 2007 at 11:21 pm #

    ahhahahaha! no, I really do love Ikea. I just don’t like any of their employees! lol. Except for my cashier who is the only saving grace.

  2. iamthesky March 17, 2007 at 11:22 pm #

    P.S. Glad you had a great day!

  3. steen March 18, 2007 at 12:18 am #

    ikea lunch is good, but nothing–NOTHING–beats their 99-cent breakfast. p.s. we had a moleben (google and/or wiki it) last night at church and i put your uncle’s name on the list of people we prayed for.

  4. rainypete March 20, 2007 at 8:56 am #

    I’ve never eaten there but you’ve got me thinking I need to try it out.

Leave a Reply

