A Love Affair

18 Mar

Shelley from At Home in Rome has put out a challenge for those of us who live in/have been to/ just love Rome to write about our experience with la città eterna. I know I talked about my time in Rome once in October, but I couldn’t resist the chance to revisit my meeting with the city of my dreams.

This was it, the moment when I truly fell in love with Rome:
MEinPiazzaVenezia

I was sitting in Piazza Venezia. It was just warm enough outside to feel totally comfortable with the cold marble against my back. The sun was blocked by the shadow of the fountain, and the sound of the water falling made it easy to just close my eyes and be still for a moment.
waterfromveneziafountain

Because Piazza Venezia is the main hub for a lot of the city bus lines, I could hear all sorts of languages flow past me. A German woman asked to take my picture. Right then, with my eyes closed and my heart happy, I felt at home like I have never felt before or since.

I am not the sort who tends to be inspired by particular places. I have never had much of an attachment to where I lived in terms of the actual city or street. For me, Rome was different. Everything about it felt like the home I had never known, like Italy ran in my veins and I never knew it until I touched down on Roman soil.

I know it all sounds painfully poetic, like something a ridiculous American might say who got caught up in the mythic feel of Rome. And maybe so. Maybe I bought into the romance wholesale. All I know is that Rome made me happy. I stood taller, and dressed better:
IlooklikeanItalian

I saw things that made no sense:
isthatabeaver

(this mystery explained HERE), and things I had only dreamed of seeing:
ilduomo9 dellavittoriasttheresa colosseo10 sanluigicarravaggio1

I stood in front of some of the most amazing and beautiful things I have ever seen:
sanignazio pantheon5 popolochurch archandcolosseo fontanadellaquattrofontaine - nile-africa

In Rome, I found wonderful people who were willing to literally lay on the ground to take a picture of me from the best possible angle:
themantakingthispictureislayingonthegroundtogetagoodanglefor

But more than anything else, I found peace. The kind of peace that made me feel whole in new and wonderful ways. The kind that made me more able to accept me for me, as Mediterranean men don’t seem to mind a little curve on their women. The magic of Italy had me in a bikini!!! You have every reason not to believe me, but I have proof:
MEatsanmarinella3

So, I raise my glass to you, la bella città, la città del mio cuore, dei miei sogni (beautiful city, city of my heart, of my dreams):
wine-dingdown

My fondest wish is to see you again, to stand on your dusty roads and see the strength of your ancient heart. I want to be blanketed in beautiful, passionate Italian words and marvel at the depths of culture, culinary skill, and appreciation for beauty in all its forms.

4 Responses to “A Love Affair”

  1. Wondy March 18, 2007 at 6:48 pm #

    Such a beautiful post, my love. I have never been but long to now – but only if you’re my guide…

    You look amazing as well x x

  2. sognatrice March 19, 2007 at 5:05 am #

    Gorgeous! How wonderful that you can pinpoint the moment of love 🙂

  3. iamthesky March 19, 2007 at 4:30 pm #

    I love it when you get all passionate. 😉

  4. nyc/caribbeanragazza April 3, 2007 at 2:04 pm #

    Stunning photos and such a beautiful post. My two year anniversary of the first time I went to Rome is this week. I miss it every single day.

Leave a Reply

