WTF, Mate? or Why I Hate My University…

20 Mar

I should be graduating in May.  I am sort of sliding through on a technicality there, and actually have to take two summer term classes in order to officially graduate.  When I looked up registration for the summer, way back in January, it said April 9.  Like a good girl, I marked my calendar and dove into my semester.  My last real semester.

When I got online a couple of days ago to fanatically double check my chosen classes, I found that the registration date was actually MARCH 10.  I don’t know if I screwed up, or if they changed it, or what.  So I missed registration.  In a panic, I got online to register right away.  Except the system wouldn’t let me.  It doesn’t give me summer as an option for registration.

I emailed my advisor.  She is looking into my options, but it is likely that the classes I needed are full now.  We have a program available through the school where we can take courses at other universities in our system and get home institution credit for them, so I looked up classes at those schools.  I was relieved to find that I had some options there, and even online courses which would leave me free to work.

Advisor says I can’t take them, that my last courses must be at home school, despite the fact that it says right in the university system guidelines that any classes taken through the university system program count as home institution credits.

I went back online.  I have almost no options now for what I can take.  The only courses left are ones that meet every day, which means I cannot work, which is a financial impossibility.

I am at a loss.  I have had so many ridiculous problems with this school…

7 Responses to “WTF, Mate? or Why I Hate My University…”

  1. iamthesky March 20, 2007 at 9:19 pm #

    Can I take them for you and just transfer over the credit??? I’m sorry you have to deal with that kind of crap. This school is the most disorganized place I’ve ever seen. 😦 Boo to you University!

  2. JESUS ANTONIO March 21, 2007 at 3:05 am #

    hahahahah Iamthesky you have not seen my school and my advisor screw ups!!!
    Heather I hope you get a solution soon!!!
    kisses..

    JESUS ANTONIO
    Why didnt you offer me a date with your sister??
    mmmmmmmmm…..mmmmmmmmmm…yeah I know I live too far…hahahah kisses!!!

  3. Wondy March 21, 2007 at 5:19 am #

    It does sound sucky, babe, that school. I am sorry I can’t offer much comfort but I do hope they pull their finger out of their bottoms long enough to sort something out for you.

    Thinking of you, bunny x x

  4. sognatrice March 21, 2007 at 5:36 am #

    Ugh! I hate your school too, even though I don’t actually know what school it is…it’s enough that it’s causing you such stress!

  5. Wondy March 21, 2007 at 10:05 am #

    Sushi Sis should so go on a date with Jesus Antonio!

  6. Yummy Sushi Pajamas March 21, 2007 at 10:32 am #

    I am ALL for that, except I would miss her when she inevitably fell in love with him and moved to Mexico! Same goes for Jason in LA! Sushi Sis would be so far away!!!

  7. Bre March 21, 2007 at 11:31 am #

    That sounds ridiculous! I’d do as much digging as possible into credit transferance and then take it up with the Academic Dean or Director of Academic Affairs. If the information out there tells you that you can do it, they can’t have secret clauses!

Leave a Reply

