A Favor…

2 Apr

I might have changed my mind about grad school…

I am feeling odd about this because I felt so sure when I made the decision not to go.  I was feeling like I had to choose EITHER a family soon OR the higher education I had always told myself I would get.  Plus, I wasn’t liking my choices as far as grad programs, and I felt like I would be spending a lot of time and money to settle for something not so great.  After a behind-the-scenes tour of a museum, I was suddenly faced with the fact that I didn’t want to do any of the things my degree would prepare me for.  So I decided not to go.

Mr. Pants and I got to talking this weekend though, and ended up coming to terms with the fact that there is no reason why I cannot have both a family AND my masters.  So I found some programs that are still accepting applications, and one that really fits my interests a little more than the general ones I was looking at before.  I think I am going to apply…

So here’s the favor:  I need to talk to people, moms and dads, who have had/raised small children while in grad school, or are the significant others of people who have done so.  I need to know what the major challenges are, so I know if I am prepared to face them.  I need to know if it’s tough, which I can take, or nearly impossible, which might not be worth it.  I know it’s going to be hard.  I need to know how hard.

ANY help is awesome.

2 Responses to “A Favor…”

  1. patrick April 2, 2007 at 11:06 am #

    I have been reading your blog for a short while so I don’t “know” you well. First I’ll say that I am a guy and so not a mom, and that makes my experience different. I took 25 units a semester (a JC in the day, SDSU at night) I worked part time and was seldom home. I made time to spend with my son by taking him to the excellent day care at the JC where I could go and spend time with him between classes. Of course I was able to spend little time with my wife and was up constantly all night writing papers and reading. One agreement that my wife and I made when it came to disciplining was we were and are a united front, us against them always. If we disagreed, we adjourned to another room talked out our differences, then we came back and finished our business with our kids. If I can help you can drop me an email.

  2. Jason Rohrblogger April 2, 2007 at 2:45 pm #

    It’s gonna suck, but you just have to put your head down and do it. How’s that for advice? I’ve never been a parent, but I was a small child as my mother finished up her nursing degree. She would drive us to the park and let us play while she sat in the car and read textbooks.

Leave a Reply

