The Talk

3 Apr

So here’s how the “baby talk” went. I planned out everything I was going to say. I know how he thinks and he wants everything to be just so. I told him to sit, and asked him to listen to everything I had to say before he got to speak. Here was my part, which I totally wrote down and read back to him so I wouldn’t forget anything:

I want to have a baby now.

I know you want us to be paying off bills and buying a house, and those things can still happen. I will be working a lot more, and for more money, starting this week and then even more as soon as graduation happens.

Because I now have a whole year ahead of me before graduate school, it will give me time to work a lot and be able to pay off our bills much faster. I am going to talk to work about me coming in for the other 15 hours a week to work elsewhere once I graduate, and if they say no I am going to find another part-time job so I am working 40 hours.

The timing is just really good for us right now. If I got pregnant now, I would have the baby around February (still giving us a lot of time to pay off debts before it came) and then I would have six months with the baby before I had to start graduate school.

In the time between baby and grad school, my salary would be just enough to cover the cost of childcare while I worked, which I could do right up until the very, very end of the pregnancy. I get benefits in the new position so I would get paid maternity leave.

Once I started school, I think my stipend would cover some of that cost. Penn says the stipend for one semester is $18,300 plus insurance. That would cover my books, train cost, and probably a good chunk if not all of childcare.

Assuming the semester to be six months, the stipend allows me about $3000 a month. I would need $1000 for the train. It looks like the average cost for childcare is between $800 and $1000 a month. That would still leave me with another thousand a month for expenses and bills.

I really think we could do this, and it is so important for me to be able to have a child soon. I think it would be the perfect time to do it and not have to worry about being pregnant while just beginning graduate school or having to miss a thesis defense to give birth or something. If I decide to have another child, I will be much farther along in my schooling, if not finished, and can plan so that I will have the baby in the summer and avoid the possible issues that way.

Your turn.

He listened to everything. Then, he drove me crazy by calculating everything with a notebook and calculator for about an hour. Then, he came over, wrapped his arms around me, and said yes, he was ready to have a baby! Later, when we were making dinner in the kitchen, he wrapped his arms around me again, hugged me, and said he was really excited! I cannot wait!

8 Responses to “The Talk”

  1. Cyndi April 3, 2007 at 9:57 am #

    Aaaahhhh, that’s so exciting! Just so you know, I am a master* with a crochet hook, so I’ll totally make you some baby blankets and sweaters and little booties!!

    *master = pretty good at most stuff 😛

  2. caryn April 3, 2007 at 10:20 am #

    I’m so, so, so excited for you!!!

  3. Brandee April 3, 2007 at 10:24 am #

    Yay babies! :] That’s so exciting… And next Sunday would be good for hanging out, if it’s still good for you.

  4. Jason Rohrblogger April 3, 2007 at 12:02 pm #

    I’m sure you will have no problem cranking this baby out! Don’t let this turn into an infertility blog!

  5. Chica April 3, 2007 at 12:35 pm #

    Aw, that’s so lovely. You guys are too cute!

    Congratulations, Heather x

  6. Bre April 3, 2007 at 8:00 pm #

    Yet another reason why a Mr. Pants clone is extremely important to create! I think this is completely adorable and sweet and EXCITING! Hurray!

  7. Nicole April 3, 2007 at 11:59 pm #

    YAY! Congratulations!

    Two bits of advice:
    1) enjoy the babymaking. it’s fun.
    2) be prepared to be flexible. I think you and I are a lot alike, in that we make five year plans and to do lists. Pregnancy, childbirth, parenthood — these are wholly unpredictable. So, while you’re laying out your timeline, prepare for some of the unexpected!

  8. rainypete April 4, 2007 at 6:35 am #

    Too cool! And FYI…..as much as you think you’re ready, you’re never really ready. They are unpredictable, unplannable and so much fun despite the strange hours. Good luck on the new beginning and may you have just enough trouble that you have to try a whole lot without any major problems ;o)

Leave a Reply

