This I Believe

4 Apr

I stole this entirely from Bre, and also sort of from NPR, but here I go. Bre’s post was too beautiful to ignore and totally inspired me to my own declaration.

And so, THIS I believe:

I believe in the power of family. It can be the most amazing support system and the most beautiful place to escape to. My own has seen me through some of the best and worst times in my life, and I wouldn’t trade them for anything.

I believe in soul mates, both romantically and otherwise. There are people in the world you’re simply meant to share a bit of your life with. I believe that these people can come to be just like family, and just as important.

I believe that knowledge, however you find it, is of infinite importance. Whether you go to school, read some books, or get out there and live life, you must do so in the pursuit of knowledge. If you’ve stopped learning, you’ve stopped living.

I believe in a higher power. I also believe that you, and everyone else, have the right to believe in whatever you want. I believe everyone should give each other the same consideration.

I believe in supporting our troops abroad, as they are doing something none of us would want to do. I also believe that the war has been mishandled. Decrying the mistakes of the administration is not the same thing as dismissing the troops. I can believe the war is misguided and still support our troops one hundred percent.

I believe that my body is my own, as is yours. As such, I have the right to make wonderful or horrible decisions, for which there will be consequences that I must pay. I believe it is MY right to choose, and to pay.

I believe that ancient history has something to teach all of us. Great and terrible examples have come before us, and there is much to be learned from looking at them. If we cannot learn from what has come before, we can hardly consider ourselves successful as a people.

I believe that touching one life is enough to count myself as successful.

I believe that looking down on anyone because of their race, sex, orientation, religious beliefs, financial position, or anything else makes you unquestionably closed minded and unforgivable.

I believe in controlled slacking. Life can be too much sometimes, and it is more than worth your time to take a moment and get away, at least mentally. My blog does that for me.

I believe in never holding back when it comes to love. You may have your heart broken a time or two, but hearts turn out to be amazingly resilient things. Go out and tell someone you love them today.

I believe that we don’t open our eyes quite enough. There is a big, beautiful world out there, and we miss a lot of it while we are wrapped up in our day-to-day hectic lives. I believe it would do us all a world of good to try and change this, to just take a moment here and there to really stop and notice the world around you. Taking pictures has been a huge help to me here. When you’re always looking for something to take pictures of, you notice the oddest things!

I believe we all search for something, and all we’re really looking for is understanding.

Finally, I believe that things like this – chances to think out your world view – are incredibly healthy.  They’re a great mental tidy.

One Response to “This I Believe”

  1. Bre April 8, 2007 at 9:46 pm #

    This was really, truly lovely, Heather!!

    Also, I love “controlled slacking” – it’s utterly delightful 🙂

Leave a Reply

