Campus Talk

17 Apr

Everyone is talking about the tragedy at Virginia Tech. I’d like to send good wishes out to the people at VT, who I know must be going through a terrible time right now. Something like this is never easy, and I know people must have lost friends and family. My heart goes out to the people who have lost someone or been injured.

I only wish my fellow classmates had any measure of respect for the people who are suffering. They sit around debating gun control issues and talking about ways in which VT should have done things differently. No one was prepared for this, and all we ought to be doing is sending our love and support to the students, faculty, and staff that suffered a frightening tragedy not at all far from us.

Stop sitting around talking about ridiculous things. Stop joking about how you’re “The One” and could have dodged the bullets, or are a Jedi Master who would have survived via your light saber. I wish I was kidding, but people have actually said these things. People wonder why I despise the people I go to school with. CARE! FEEL! Understand that there is pain in the world.

I wish there was something I could do for the VT community.

04.17.07 Day Two Hundred One - Impact

My heart goes out to all of the people who were lost, injured, or frightened. We live in a cruel world sometimes, but what defines us as people is our ability to come together when it is called for.

I know that there is precious little I can do, especially for the families who have lost someone, but I just want to let it be know that I care. I am moved and saddened. I will not forget.

6 Responses to “Campus Talk”

  1. Bre April 17, 2007 at 11:31 am #

    One can only hope that that’s just how they are processing their emotions and they aren’t really such complete tools. Ugh.

  2. rainypete April 17, 2007 at 12:03 pm #

    People spend their entire lives building a cocoon around themselves to insulate themselves from the realities of the world. While this makes their life a little easier it does take its toll on society at large. We’ve crafted a world of people who don’t know how to deal with the hard truths and as such a joke can divert their minds. While it’s nice to have a laugh as a coping mechanism ti must be used carefully so as to not become a crutch. I feel so bad for those that lost their lives simply becuase they chose to try and improve themselves.

  3. Wondy April 17, 2007 at 12:14 pm #

    Love this post and totally agree with you, I’ve heard some corkers too.

    People can be amazing but at times like this you also see a side of humanity which shocks and disgusts.

    We have to put ourselves in these people’s shoes and try to feel for them, like with any act of terrorism or hate because it could happen to any one of us.

  4. Cyndi April 17, 2007 at 2:21 pm #

    I read the reports yesterday and actually started crying because the whole thing was just so horrible. I just don’t understand what drives someone to the point where they think shooting up their school is the best solution. It’s so sad because it just makes no sense.

  5. Elizabeth April 17, 2007 at 4:44 pm #

    I agree with Bre, I’m sure it was just their way of coping. I talked with my mom on the phone and we starting saying how they should have shut down the campus immediately after the first shootings. We also were horrified and upset. I think it’s just a way to focus on the facts instead of all of the grief and loss. After september 11th I watched the t.v. nonstop for 2 weeks, crying every single day. At one point, I had to quit watching..I wasn’t functioning because I just kept playing those images in my head over and over again. Everyone grieves differently and I dont think there is a right way….but yes saying you’d dodge the bullets with “the force” is a little ridiculous. :/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. If there is anything worth reading today... « Can you hold me, without touching me? - April 18, 2007

    […] there is anything worth reading today… 18Apr07 it’s this. Filed under: Uncategorized […]

Leave a Reply

