Three Years and Counting…

24 Apr

Today Mr. Pants and I celebrated our three year wedding anniversary.  It’s interesting that we are, without a doubt, happier than ever.

Strangers, who have always seemed to delight in telling us we were happy because it was new and we were too young to know better are now slightly stumped.  There is a distinct pause when they hear how long we’ve been married.  It is usually followed by a knowing look and the assurance that don’t worry, we’ll be miserable soon.  I used to be endlessly frustrated by these people.  Now I just sort of find them sad.

Mr. Pants is perfect…  for me at least.  He’s sweet and kind and thoughtful and loving.  He puts up with the worst of me, laughs when I am silly, and doesn’t seem to mind when I take off my shoes in the car and fill his fabulous sports car with the stench of Yummy Sushi Feet.  

He loves me, which works out well since I love him, and unrequited love never goes anywhere good.

He has a cute smile and eyes that change color according to his mood – bluer when he’s happy, gray when he’s tired or cranky.  He says my eyes are “amber” which is the most beautiful description of boring old hazel I’ve ever heard. 

He pinches my butt in public.  This is an underrated gesture, and all husbands/boyfriends should commence the butt pinching of their significant others.  Just remember, it’s a butt, not a grapefruit.  GENTLE.

I think I’ve changed in these three years.  I know more about me and what I want from life.  I like me better than I once did.  I like him better too.  In fact, the longer we are together, the more we realize we really made the right choice. 

02.16.07 Homecoming - 1995 (2)

11 Responses to “Three Years and Counting…”

  1. bastet3 April 24, 2007 at 8:29 pm #

    Congratulations! I hope I find a “Pants” of my own sometime soon! That picture is too cute!!!

  2. Elizabeth April 24, 2007 at 9:45 pm #

    Happy Anniversary! That is so odd because today is 3 years since my hubby and I’s first date. Our 1 year marriage anniversary was December 30th but I still feel like this is our anniversary in a lot of ways. (we moved in together 3 months later) I am glad you guys are happy, and I know the feeling of those looks/cynicism..because I am young of course I’m going to change and grow and therefore it just wont work…but I think you can grow together and appreciate the changes in the person you love because you want them to do better and to be happy, and if you WORK at a relationship it has a better chance than just accepting the fact that “marriage” is terrible and passionless.

  3. caryn April 24, 2007 at 9:45 pm #

    Happy Anniversary!

  4. Bre April 24, 2007 at 11:07 pm #

    You two are too cute for words.

    Your dyed to match blue shoes on the other hand……. :-p

  5. Wondy April 25, 2007 at 5:17 am #

    Ah, I love me some Pants. And I agree with the butt-pinching – let it commence!

    Congratulations to both of you x

  6. Chica April 25, 2007 at 7:43 am #

    Congrats!! It’s lovely that you two have grown together, not apart. How long have you been together, including the dating years?

    It’s weird how people delight in giving you that knowing look. Me and Boyf got that all the time. But then we also got lots of people telling us we were perfect for each other, and it’s nice if we bump into someone I went to school with and they’re like: “You’re STILL together?!”

    I’m not sure I’m with you on the butt pinching though… Boyf would probably get a slap.

  7. Brandee April 25, 2007 at 10:11 am #

    Aren’t people so awesome for wishing misery on happy people?? I totally sympathize with you on this. Anyway, you guys are ridiculously cute… happy anniversary!! That means I’ve known you for about three years, because I think I met you right before you got married. So it’s our anniversary too! :]

  8. Jason Rohrblogger April 25, 2007 at 12:13 pm #

    LOVE the pic! Ha! Too cute.

  9. rainypete April 26, 2007 at 7:54 am #

    Congrats! It’s always nice to see a couple that are growing together instead of apart. Sadly it seems rare these days to see such a thing.

  10. Dink April 26, 2007 at 3:21 pm #

    That picture is ADORABLE.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Neg. « Yummy Sushi Pajamas - May 14, 2007

    […] I am thinking I should try NOT using negative and derogatory terms to describe myself…  I’d rather people found my blog based on happier things.  Puppies?  Rainbows?  True love? […]

Leave a Reply

