I Dislike You Strongly

8 May

We did course evaluations today for one of my hands-down, no questions asked, favorite teachers in all the world.  I happen to know, based on some serious big mouths in the class, that a lot of the students are giving her extremely negative evaluations.

Now, I am all for personal opinion.  You don’t have to like her just because I do, and not everyone thrives on the same teaching styles.

However… they were giving her negative evaluations based on things that she gave them ample opportunity to speak up about.  They complained about the pace of the course (some said too fast, others too slow) and about there not being a specific course schedule.  I have lost count of how many times she sat in front of us in class and said, “What can I do to make this class work better for you?” or “What do you need from me?” or “What do you think I should change?”…

Of course, no one ever spoke up.  Now her department head will see several really negative reviews based on something completely unfair.  I despise these people with a fiery vengeance usually reserved for people who hate puppies.

5 Responses to “I Dislike You Strongly”

  1. Bre May 8, 2007 at 9:20 pm #

    There are people who hate puppies?!?!?!

  2. Yummy Sushi Pajamas May 8, 2007 at 9:53 pm #

    No. No one could be so perverse. I used that only as an example of truly horrible people…

  3. sognatrice May 9, 2007 at 2:59 am #

    Disturbing. All of this. Especially the puppy thing.

    I’m now on the flip side, being a teacher, and I see that you can’t please everyone. If my students were to do evaluations, I know there would be at least one who says I go too fast and another too slowly…yeah, well, that has more to do with their speed than mine, and I’m OK with that. A lot of times, you have to aim for the middle as a teacher, which means some get bored while others get lost; I would hope that the administration at any school would get this too.

  4. iamthesky May 9, 2007 at 8:22 am #

    Is it sad that I know exactly who you’re talking about?! This makes me really angry. It’s not fair in the least and those people should get kicked in the face. What time is Italian class???

Leave a Reply

