Basiliscus Magnus

11 May

Meet Harry. He belonged to my wonderful friend C. Today, he passed away. C is sad, and I am sad for her, but more importantly I want to highlight what a wonderful girl she is for how well and truly she loved Harry.

“…he couldn’t walk. He would try to move and flip himself over onto his back and was unable to flip back over again…. I got up at night when I heard him flip over and I put him back on his tummy. I fed him crickets and worms and kept his water clean and let him sit on my arms and legs. After a while he could walk and move a lot better, but he was never completely healed. So I always made sure that his tank was set up so that he had things to climb but he was never too far off the ground.”

This is real love. The kind of devotion that wonderful, good hearted people show to the people and animals who matter to them. Harry could not have had a better owner, and now he is up in Basilisk heaven bragging to all of the other reptiles about how much better his life was than theirs.

Brag away, Harry!

(basiliscus magnus=great lizard)

4 Responses to “Basiliscus Magnus”

  1. Diesel May 12, 2007 at 12:12 am #

    All lizards go to heaven.

  2. sognatrice May 12, 2007 at 2:33 am #

    Aw, what a cutie! And yes, at least he was loved well for his time here on Earth. My condolences to C, and may Harry rest in peace.

  3. bastet3 May 12, 2007 at 9:33 am #

    Thanks so much for this tribute!! Your nice words have really meant a lot to me. I’m sorry you won’t get to meet Harry now, cause he was a pretty cool guy. But I like the thought of him being up in lizard heaven 🙂 I wanted to thank you too for asking for pictures of him, if you hadn’t I wouldn’t have any digital pics of him (I only have a couple regular photos from when he was little and I’m not sure where they are right now). So thanks to you I have some nice pictures to remember him by. Thanks so much for your support!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend in Review « Come on in, the water’s fine - May 14, 2007

    […] the love and support that everyone sent out to me helped pull me through.  My friend Heather wrote this glowing tribute to Harry, and Bre came over to play games and watch movies with me.  Even […]

Leave a Reply

