The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

14 May

The Good: I had a wonderful weekend with family. We spent Saturday with Mr. Pants’ mom and her husband. We went to the museums in DC and I took tons of great pictures. We were completely worn out by the end of the day, but in a good way. Sunday was spent at my parents’ house, where we ate great food, spent wonderful time with my amazing family, and got the chance to celebrate Mother’s Day with my favorite Mom.

On that note, Happy Mother’s Day (a bit late) to all of the mothers out there. You all deserve the chance to relax and spoil yourselves, as you have the hardest and most important job in the world. I admire each of you for your strength and your love.

I also discovered just how much I adore my husband. He sat down and had a long, personal talk with Sushi Mom this weekend. I don’t really know what was said, as neither of them are coming out with big details. All the same, I love it. I love that he will talk to her, and I love even more that they are keeping it between themselves. No two people love me more, so whatever they’ve said must be good.

The Bad: I am super tired today. I had a bit of a rough day yesterday as far as body image goes, so I had trouble sleeping. So… tired. My allergies are acting up as well, and I have the horrible feeling that I might have contracted my sister’s pink-eye, though I am still holding out hope that it’s just a horrid allergy day and will resolve itself accordingly.  I’ve also managed to turn a “fat day” into a feeling-gross-looking two day marathon…

The Ugly: I desperately needed a haircut. The vitamins I have been taking are totally thickening my already frighteningly thick hair, so I needed a trim and some thinning out. I got the trim, which helped a lot. I also got bangs again, mostly because I was feeling crap about my body and thinking a hair change might improve my overall self image. But oh, how I was wrong. My sister cut my bangs using this new technique that she learned… and I hate it. I wasn’t sure if I liked it or not yesterday, as I was pretty tired and it’s a big change. When I got up this morning and had to do it myself I realized that I think it’s horrible. I look like I have a comb-over.

Only I’m not that cute…

05.14.07 The Combover

4 Responses to “The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly”

  1. Tara May 14, 2007 at 1:35 pm #

    I like the bangs, you look totally cute! You always need to give bangs a little time to figure out the best styling method, but still totally looking cute. I am psyched about having a hot date this weekend with a cutie with bangs!

  2. Bre May 14, 2007 at 1:37 pm #

    I like the bangs! But I certainly sympathize that they can be tricky. I tend to force mine to be flatter and straighter than the rest of my hair with a baby-sized flat iron… maybe that would help?

  3. Tara May 14, 2007 at 2:05 pm #

    Another Tara! Interesting!

    Bangs are cute. They’re just probably shocked they’ve been amputated is all. Give ’em a few days to calm themselves. They’ll be extra cute then! 🙂

  4. iamthesky May 14, 2007 at 7:07 pm #

    You do NOT look like you have a comb over! I love you with bangs and they look totally fine!

Leave a Reply

