Grad

25 May

I did it. I graduated!!! The ceremony was short and relatively painless, I did not trip or stumble on stage, and I walked away with a fake degree. They mail the real one later so no one sneaks by with one they didn’t earn.

Click on the picture to see the whole set:

Funny things first: one of the girls we went to Greece with, whom Steen and I affectionately call Pork (she ordered it everywhere we went, to the point that it was weird) showed up with the worst haircut ever, combined with a quite unflattering hair color as well. I am not always one to be mean, but color me spiteful, as I took some small joy in her looking a little funky, and not in a good way. She spread all sorts of terrible rumors about us on that trip, so I was pleased to see a little karmic return. Of course I have just blown my karma points on this mean-spirited bit, but I think I’ll be alright. In fact, karma is going to have to take a back seat again as I have one more mean thing to say.

The student speaker at our commencement was one of the stars of the worst play I have ever, ever seen. Her speech was entirely too earnest, and seem painfully rehearsed, like a middle schooler rehearsing the lines to an uncomfortable rendition of Romeo and Juliet.

I almost forgot — there was a shuttle taking people back and forth from the arena to the parking lots. We took it back and needed to get off at lot 13. The bus stopped there, very briefly, but there were people in our way and we couldn’t get off. When he started to go again, we asked him to wait so that we could get off and he said no! He specifically said “you can walk” and drove off to the next lot!!! How random and rude???

Okay — that’s enough of that. On to the positive:

My fabulous husband, his amazing dad, and my wonderful family were all there for me. During one point in the ceremony, the president of the university asked all of the friends and family to stand up and be recognized for their support of us throughout our academic journey. It was wonderful, and the only point during which I teared up.

At one point in the ceremony, they called for all of the students with summa cum laude (highest honors) to stand up. It was SO fulfilling to be among them, and there were not very many of us. More than anything I was proud at that moment that so many of the people I love got to see me stand and say I had worked hard, been determined and committed, and earned the highest of honors.

After the ceremony, we got some wonderful pictures of me in my cap and gown. Then we all went into downtown and had an early dinner at a great little Italian restaurant, the same one where the Classical Studies minors had recently had an end of term dinner as well. It was wonderful. The food was amazing, the restaurant left their windows open so that we could enjoy the beautiful weather, and I got to eat and talk with some of my favorite people in all the world.

I cannot wait for Saturday, when I have my official graduation party and get even more chances to relax with friends and family. Thanks to all of them, and to my inner-webz friends as well. A lot of you have been a great support for me when I really needed it. After all, being academically fabulous is VERY hard work indeed! 🙂

Most of all though, I was SO thankful for Mr. Pants yesterday. When I think of everything he has put up with over the last couple of years… long nights, me never coming to bed, endless studying, stress, crying, worry, money being tight because school prevented me from working much… He is such an amazing man. He has supported me every step of the way, always encouraged me to work hard for what I wanted, what would make me happy. I could not ask for a better husband, a better friend.

Now excuse me, my eyes are all watery (damn allergies…), and I must go entertain my sudden, undeniable craving for green apples.

10 Responses to “Grad”

  1. bastet3 May 25, 2007 at 9:52 am #

    Congratulations! You totally deserve all the honors cause you worked so hard!! Sorry I won’t be able to make it to your party tomorrow but I hope you have a super fabulous time chillin out with the fam and friends!

  2. christine May 25, 2007 at 10:09 am #

    i am SO PROUD OF YOU. i’ve only known you for about 1.5 of the 28397434 years you’ve been in school, but that’s been long enough for me to realize that you deserve it more than everyone else.

  3. EinStern May 25, 2007 at 10:22 am #

    Awwww! You’re so awesome! Hooray for you graduating! This is one of those moments where I want to say something incredibly uplifting and deep, but I can’t think of anything besides…. WWWWOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOTTTTT!

  4. Brandi May 25, 2007 at 10:22 am #

    That’s so awesome, Heather! Congrats. You deserve it more than anyone I know. You have a wonderful husband and family – cherish them always. 🙂

  5. Jess May 25, 2007 at 11:31 am #

    Congratulations! 🙂

  6. Bre May 25, 2007 at 12:37 pm #

    Heather! You did it! I’m so proud of you and I’m sure Mr. Pants and the family are too! 🙂

  7. sognatrice May 25, 2007 at 3:11 pm #

    AUGURI!!!!!! You deserve all the praise and accolades and hugs and cake…have some cake for me, would you?

  8. Tara May 25, 2007 at 4:24 pm #

    Congratulations!!!! Now enjoy SUMMER! 🙂

  9. caryn May 25, 2007 at 11:37 pm #

    So excited for you. So proud of you. Congratulations!!!

  10. markleblog May 26, 2007 at 1:55 pm #

    Yay Heather!! Congratulations! And now you get to relax and come hang out with us over the summer! :]

Leave a Reply

