Engrish

29 May

Pardon me while I spout off about things that would normally anger me if anyone else was saying them.

First, let me say that I have no problem with people being proud of their culture, ethnicity, gender…  whatever.  Be proud, it’s probably good for you.  I also think it’s wonderful when people maintain cultural ties and traditions.  It is sad when those things are lost and they should be cherished and protected.

I have NO problem with people not speaking English.  You can speak whatever you want.  If you’re lack of English causes you problems or setbacks, that is your business, not mine, and you can do what you want with it.  Learn it or don’t, I don’t care at all.  People who speak shaky English don’t make me angry.  Mostly, I like the sound of their accents.

There’s one exception.  If your entire JOB is to communicate with people whose native language is English, I require you to be at least understandable.  I don’t need you to be without accent, or to understand slang or colloquialisms.  I just need you to speak clearly in an intelligible way, and to understand the clear and simple things I am saying in return.  That’s all I ask…  especially where my money is concerned.

And just as a side note?  If your names are really Nate and Cindy, then mine is Harinakshi.  What, you don’t believe me?  Fair enough.  I don’t believe you either.

Leave a Reply

