Cocoavia

4 Jun

A long time ago, I read about Cocoavia chocolate on Hungry Girl.  I am never one to turn down chocolate, but diet-friendly chocolate is so frequently a double edged sword.

When I did Atkins a while back, all of the low carb chocolate was just terrible.  Recently I tried the Weight Watchers chocolates, and although I LOVE the chocolate pecan clusters, I don’t really like much of the rest of those.

Needless to say, I had little faith in Cocoavia because of it.  I could never find single bars for sale (only boxes), so I was never willing to risk it for a box of semi-expensive candy that I might turn out to hate.

Today, however, everything changed.  I was desperate for chocolate, but also (as of this post) newly determined to change the way I have been eating.  So when CVS carried the Cocoavia bars, I looked them over.  When I saw that they were made by Dove, I was sold.  I adore Dove.

Here’s a description of the Cocoavia bars from their website:

CocoaVia® Brand Chocolate Bars are so deliciously rich and satisfying, they’ll forever change how you enjoy chocolate — and what you think about Heart Healthy Snacks. Available in three scrumptious varieties, Original Chocolate, Crispy Chocolate, and Blueberry & Almond Chocolate, these Heart Healthy Snacks are an excellent source of calcium and a good source of folic acid, vitamins B6, B12 and antioxidant vitamins C and E and are a nutritionally responsible 90–100 calories per serving.

CocoaVia® Brand Heart Healthy Snacks contain ingredients that help lower bad cholesterol and promote healthy circulation while delivering deliciously rich and satisfying, premium chocolate pleasure. CocoaVia® Brand Snacks include delicious, heart healthy ingredients such as wild Maine blueberries, fresh roasted almonds and delightful soy crispies.Wild Maine blueberries are the #1 antioxidant fruit.

Almonds are an excellent source of the antioxidant vitamin E, and provide many other nutrients such as protein, fiber, B6, magnesium, calcium, potassium and zinc.

Soy crispies provide about .5 grams of soy protein per serving of CocoaVia® Brand Heart Healthy Snacks.

I got the blueberry almond bars, the highest in calories at 100 calories a bar, and still only 2 points for Weight Watchers people.

The individual bars are pretty small, but they are absolutely AMAZING.  They are SO rich that their size is perfect, and they totally soothed my chocolate craving for today!  I am so happy with this find.

The company also makes plain chocolate bars, crispy ones, chocolate covered almonds, and snack bars in dark chocolate, plus milk chocolate bars, milk chocolate covered raisins, and a “rich chocolate indulgence beverage” that is pretty much chocolate milk.

Now I have to try them all!

One Response to “Cocoavia”

  1. Bre June 4, 2007 at 3:13 pm #

    Yuck! Chocolate! I’m no fan, but if they could make diet friendly crab cakes, dark beers, or street pretzels I’d be pleased

Leave a Reply

