The Best Policy

5 Jun

There’s been a lot of talk around the blogosphere of late concerning honesty and openness in blogging. People, especially those who started out with private blogs just for themselves and ended up with a bit of a following, are beginning to feel guarded.

When you start a blog as a journal, you begin by writing everything that comes into your head. You don’t think about who is reading it or what they might think. When strangers begin to read it, you close down a little bit, becoming more and more careful about what you are willing to reveal to the outside world.

Now in general I don’t really have strangers reading my blog. Most of you are people I have never met but I’d like to. I’ve corresponded with you, read your own blogs, sent personal emails, and followed pictures you’ve posted. I feel like I know you, at least in an internet sense. Sometimes a real stranger pops by now and then, but they either become web friends or they disappear before too long.

That being said, I think I have definitely been censoring myself of late. I tend to be pretty happy and upbeat for the most part, and I like that about myself. I am like that in real life, and in general on YSP as well. Sometimes, though, I find it nearly impossible to share some of the serious things that occassionally happen in my life. I think I am afraid of ruining the picture, you know? The idea that I AM always happy and upbeat?

There are always going to be some things I don’t share with the digital world. Some of them are things I don’t even tell some of my friends, so I am certainly not going to start posting them for the internet to see. However, I’d like to be a bit more open again. I know the people who read this, for the most part, and I like them. I started out sharing my life, and they seemed to like me for it. So… be prepared for a new, back to basics, honest YSP.

Of course, now that I’ve said this, nothing interesting will happen for days and I will look like a big faker!  🙂

So share – anyone else feeling a little blog blocked?

10 Responses to “The Best Policy”

  1. bastet3 June 5, 2007 at 9:55 pm #

    Yup, sometimes I feel like I can’t write about something because people I know will read it. I’ll try to be more open too.

  2. Bre June 5, 2007 at 10:52 pm #

    Moi. But maybe not so much blog blocked as lazy and without desire to lift the laptop.

  3. christavswonderwoman June 6, 2007 at 4:50 am #

    I’m going to write my response to this and post it tomorrow, I know how you feel but I must say I find it easier to be candid with total strangers than the people I know and love.

    Too much to lose, too many people to upset read my blog – mother, brother, best friends, etc…

    More later – but looking forward to the back to basics version of Heather.

    I don’t think I could love you more though!

  4. Jason Rohrblogger June 6, 2007 at 10:46 am #

    Tell it like it is, Soosh.

  5. caryn June 6, 2007 at 11:49 am #

    I agree with “christavswonderwoman” … the strangers don’t bother me. It’s the swarm of sisters who read too much into something or get offended by silly things… that makes my “real” life more of a pain in the ass. I try to find a balance. I want to be open and honest, but I really don’t want the hassle of arguing with my sisters over something I posted on my blog, you know?

    I look forward to your “honest” posts. 🙂

  6. Aliana June 6, 2007 at 12:00 pm #

    That, that’s how I feel sometimes. It could also be that the medium of blogging itself makes a person write in a certain manner.

    Coincidently I am new here so its feels kinda weird that I am commenting on this post. 🙂

  7. ElizabethSheryl June 6, 2007 at 5:40 pm #

    I don’t really have anyone reading my blog so I haven’t gotten to a point where I’d need to feel guarded, but I have gotten like that on livejournal. What I like about livejournal is that you can make entries friends-only so that you know who is reading. That way if I want to bitch about my brother forgetting my mom’s birthday while my husband was in the ICU so *I* couldn’t give her any attention I can..without knowing that he’s going to get upset later.

    For me, with my blog, I have more of a…writing fear. I want my blog to be for more of an audience, for it to be more eloquent than my ramblings on livejournal..and I don’t seem to like what I write after a day or two, which leads to less and less blog-posting. I have a lot to say, I’m a talker and opinionated and have lots of free time..I just tend to want to project something different from myself when I do write so it’s tough. Egos are a fickle thing.

  8. N.F. June 6, 2007 at 10:36 pm #

    I’ve been thinking the exact same thing lately! My blog was very open and honest, when I first started it. I wrote about everyone and everything and their dog. Well, recently, I’ve begun to have 2nd thoughts about what I’m posting about–so I’ve toned it down.

    It just doesn’t feel the same–yet, I know I SHOULD be more guarded with what I put on the internet.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Opening Up « From the Mixed-Up Files of Ms. Bastet 3 Frankweiler - June 5, 2007

    […] 5th, 2007 by bastet3 In the spirit of openness, I’m going to write about something personal that’s not just a quiz result or wacky […]

  2. Green Light « *batteries not included - June 6, 2007

    […] it’s the self-censorship I talked about in the last post.  In a way I’m glad to know I’m not alone and that others feel like this too.  But the eyes of strangers do not bother me.  I think […]

Leave a Reply

