Amazing

6 Jun

Who would you be if you could be anyone?

It was a quote from, of all things, a preview for the ridiculous MTV movie, The Perfect Score.  However, like most of these sorts of questions, it got me thinking.  Who would I be?  I came up with a very interesting, and somewhat unsettling answer.

I would be me, only with children and a PhD.  So that means I am well on my way to EXACTLY who I want to be.  EXACTLY.

It’s an unsettling discover because it is so different from what I might have expected.  As a child, I wanted to be all sorts of amazing things.  Famous, rich, impossible…  At some point, maybe when I was ten or so, I started to realize that some of those dreams weren’t going to happen for me.  Not that they were impossible, but they required sacrifices I wasn’t willing to make.  So I changed things about my dreams, or held on to some of them regardless.

Suddenly my dreams, my goals, are…  ME!  I want to be ME.  With all of my perceived flaws, all of my issues and concerns and stresses, I want this life.  I want this marriage, this family, this dog, even this body.  Everything I want is within my reach.  There is nothing I can’t do.

So here – say hello to the person I’ve always wanted to be:

06.06.07 Day Two Hundred Forty One - Bringing Sexy Back

8 Responses to “Amazing”

  1. EinStern June 6, 2007 at 8:41 pm #

    YAY!!!! Because if you weren’t you I would be very upset.

  2. caryn June 6, 2007 at 10:39 pm #

    You know, I had a very similar realization recently. I have this “development plan” I have to fill out at work every year… and this year, I got to it and one of the questions was, “What are your career goals?” My answer went something like this: “You know, my future goals are unclear. I’ve been working so hard to get to where I am right now, that I haven’t really thought past it. I like where I am. I am where I wanted to be. My goal right now is to enjoy that for awhile.”

    My manager loved that answer. 🙂

  3. Rainy Pete June 7, 2007 at 1:22 am #

    A lofty goal indeed, but will you have the courage to embrace it!!

    I try to be me as much as possible every day. I get confused too easily to try and be someone else….I’d get all mixed up and be the wrong person at the wrong time.

  4. christavswonderwoman June 7, 2007 at 3:33 am #

    And I would have something missing from my life too… you know, if you weren’t who you are, you know.

  5. Cyndi June 7, 2007 at 9:34 am #

    Oww oww, hottie! That picture is fabulous! I’m glad you’re you too because I think you’re awesome!

    When I was a kid I wanted to be Batgirl … I think that could still happen if I can save up enough money for the gadgets. I could sew up my own outfit, get a motorcycle …

  6. Chica June 7, 2007 at 9:39 am #

    Good for you, my lovely! xxx

  7. Bre June 7, 2007 at 11:44 am #

    It’s such a hard lesson to learn – and a great realization to come to! Good for you! 🙂

  8. Jason Rohrblogger June 7, 2007 at 1:18 pm #

    I agree with Cyndi. Even the Batgirl part…

Leave a Reply

