Book Review #10

11 Jun

Frances Mayes’ Bella Tuscany was, in my opinion, a gem of travel writing. Her work is flowing and brilliant, with amazing pictures painted in easy and unpretentious words. If I could, I would write just like this.

The book gives a beautiful, honest picture of real life in Tuscany, and after reading it I know that someone, somewhere, shares my love of Italy at a basic level.

Mayes’ writing is wonderful and easy to follow. The book even shares some great sounding recipes from both her time in Italy and her South Georgia background. I was thrilled with the experience of reading the book and will be more than happy if she chooses to put out another.

My favorite chapter was her discussion about learning the language.  I found a lot of passages that perfectly expressed my feelings about Italian, my thoughts about why I wanted to learn the language, and my concerns about whether or not I ever would.  It’s nice to know there are other people out there who feel like I do!

Verdict: A+

Leave a Reply

