Calling All Philly Friends

13 Jun

You know who you are!

Mr. Pants and I will be in Philly on August 4th to see the King Tut exhibit, finally! We will be coming in on Amtrak, probably around 9am. Our tickets for the show are for 1pm.

I am looking for food suggestions! I think I am leaning toward Upstairs at Di Bruno’s for lunch (though I will take other suggestions, opinions, and reviews), and definitely Capogiro after the show. Does anyone know how expensive Di Bruno is, and if they offer lighter options?

What about somewhere for a quick breakfast? Maybe even something healthy?

Dinner? Not too expensive, but decent with good food? Anything but Chinese, which we can’t eat ever since we got food poisoning at Panda Express.

If we have time after the show and before dinner, we are thinking about going to a museum or something… I’ll take suggestions there as well.

We’d like to keep to a decent radius so we aren’t traipsing all over, but we like walking and have no problems with the subway. I’ll be waiting for the fabulous suggestions!

3 Responses to “Calling All Philly Friends”

  1. Tara June 13, 2007 at 5:17 pm #

    I’m not familiar with your choice, but hell, I’d go anywhere. Unfortunately, Aug. 4 is a Saturday and I’ll have class from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Of course, I could start the class, hate it and drop it, then I could visit with y’all. 🙂 One of these times it will work out!!!!!!

  2. bastet3 June 14, 2007 at 10:00 am #

    I’m going to go on a restaurant seeking mission when I’m out walking on my lunch break sometime. Off the top of my head I’d say get a cheesesteak at a cart for lunch, since they’re awesome, but since you’re trying to be “healthy” there are also fruit and salad carts around. And the Reading Terminal market is over on 11th and Filbert, and it’s filled with tons of food choices and cool stuff (and a great chocolate place with sugar free goods!). Also, for an extra museum, one of my favorites is the Rodin Museum on the Benjamin Franklin Parkway a little before you get to the Art Museum (it’s on the right as you approach the AM). All the sculpures there are beautiful and it’s like a $3 donation to go in.

  3. Lisa July 3, 2007 at 11:18 am #

    I’d have to agree with bastet and go for a cheesesteak…just this one time. The Philadelphia Art Museum is a great place to visit. The Franklin Institute is really cool. You might want to check the other attractions there after you see the King Tut exhibit. It’s easy to spend 1/2 of a day there. I believe the Academy of Natural Sciences is a block away from the Franklin Institute. I love the dioramas with the different animals.

    I don’t do much dining in Philly anymore but when I do I head towards the Manyunk section of the city where there are some fabulous restaurants.

    Check out the Philadelphia Magazine online for a great guide on the best places to eat. http://www.phillymag.com/ They offer a great review of Philly restaurants.

Leave a Reply

