Here Comes the Waaaaa-mbulance!

14 Jun

Okay, inner-netz.  I’m starting to get really nervous about Rome!  I leave in like 48 hours!  I took the day off from work tomorrow.  I do need the time to finish packing and such, but I also want the mental time to chill out and sleep in.  Besides, I don’t want to spend ANY of tonight, tomorrow night, or Saturday packing as those are my last chances to hang out with Mr. Pants.

I always get nervous before big trips like this.  I become suddenly terrified that something horrible will happen or I will forget something I cannot possibly replace or purchase abroad.  I know it’s not like a third-world country or anything.  I could totally buy stuff there, and in fact I am seriously considering buying shampoo and conditioner there instead of taking it with me…

Now I just have to manage to find an overseas converter and a bigger suitcase….

5 Responses to “Here Comes the Waaaaa-mbulance!”

  1. Bre June 14, 2007 at 6:43 pm #

    Deep breath! Everything will be ok!!

  2. bastet3 June 14, 2007 at 9:24 pm #

    Dude, I’ll take your place if you really don’t want to go!!! Ha ha, but really, don’t worry about all the pre-leaving jitters, just remember that it’s freakin ROME and it’s going to be awesome!!

  3. Jason Rohrblogger June 14, 2007 at 11:47 pm #

    Some of the most fun I’ve ever had was buying toiletries in Istabul, Turkey. I don’t speak Turkish, so I ended up with watermelon(!) -flavored tooth paste and a weird mint deodorant. Totally cool. I looked for similar products here and nothing comes close. You are going to have so much fun! I wish I was going with you to suck down amazing prosciutto and melon, and chocolate to die for. Not to mention chianti by the gallon. And endless gelati. Sigh. I’m gonna be choking on American fast food while you are living the Continental life. I am SO JEALOUS!

  4. Shelley - At Home in Rome June 15, 2007 at 11:02 am #

    Completamente normale, ragazza!

    No worries, the jitters are normal and will go away, we’ve all been there. And I wouldn’t bother packing big bottles of toiletries, you’re going to be here for a while so it’s not worth weighing down your luggage unless you’re really attached to certain brands that you’re sure you won’t find here. Surprisingly we have some US brands (like OPantene) and there are decent equivalents to nearly everything.

    A last-minute DO, however…if you take vitamins, bring them, cuz they’re expensive here.

    Otherwise I can’t think of anything, except to wish you BUON VIAGGIO!

  5. Shelley - At Home in Rome June 15, 2007 at 11:02 am #

    Completamente normale, ragazza!

    No worries, the jitters are normal and will go away, we’ve all been there. And I wouldn’t bother packing big bottles of toiletries, you’re going to be here for a while so it’s not worth weighing down your luggage unless you’re really attached to certain brands that you’re sure you won’t find here. Surprisingly we have some US brands (like Pantene) and there are decent equivalents to nearly everything.

    A last-minute DO, however…if you take vitamins, bring them, cuz they’re expensive here.

    Otherwise I can’t think of anything, except to wish you BUON VIAGGIO!

Leave a Reply

