Home sick.

25 Jun

Hi all.  Me again, checking in from an internet cafe that for all the world seems to be downwind from a dumpster.  Mmm.

Today was the first day of the excavation, and I got sent home!  Go me.  I got sick last Wednesday with a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad sore throat.  I got magic lozenges from the pharmacy.  I took the last one on Saturday morning and promptly got sick again.

I don’t know if this is the same thing or something new.  My throat is still quite sore, though not swollen at all.  Now I have this terribly dry, painful cough.  I don’t know if I should get the same lozenges again or try for something new.  I’ll see what the pharmacist has to say about it.

I am sort of glad to have gotten to go home.  Honestly, it was terribly tedious and I was not in any way enjoying myself.  I think it will get better since the beginning is all about reorganizing the site for the new dig season. 

If someone offered me a trip home right now, I’d be on the plane by tonight.  I know it sounds whiney and ungrateful and whatever else, but I just want to be home.

I also promise that things will begin to look and sound more positive once I am healthy again.  I am so sorry for not keeping up on everyone’s blogs as well!  I have to pay for internet access, so I am trying to keep surfing to a minimum.  I will catch up when I am home again.

Until the next post, take care of yourselves and the people you love.

5 Responses to “Home sick.”

  1. rainypete June 25, 2007 at 7:50 am #

    Make the best of the time you get there kiddo! You’ll be home again soon enough. I hope you’re feeling better soon as there’s nothing worse than having illness ruin a perfectly good trip.

  2. bastet3 June 25, 2007 at 9:27 am #

    Aaarrrgghhhh, that sucks that you get back to lovely Roma and you get sick! I hope you feel better soon, but if you don’t, you can switch places with me – I’ll go to Rome and you can come home! eh? eh?

  3. Bre June 25, 2007 at 10:30 am #

    Oh Heather! It sucks to be sick when you’re in a different country – I remember that awful feeling all too well! Take care of yourself (Juice! and naps!) and know that we’re all thinking of you here!

  4. Ruby June 26, 2007 at 8:31 am #

    Hope you feel better soon chica! I am sure your trip will improve when your health does!

  5. brandy June 26, 2007 at 11:39 am #

    Yikes! Sick? That’s rough my friend! As for being homesick, that’s a hard situation, but one that I can completely understand. I hope that you feel better soon and that you find yourself (sooner, rather than later) in your own bed. Safe travels!

Leave a Reply

