Dig It.

30 Jun

I started working on the excavation site on Thursday!  I was finally well enough to take part, and it was a wonderful change from being bored and sick!

I spent all day cleaning a wall.  I know that sounds terrible, and it wasn’t the most thrilling thing in the world, but I was happy to finally be taking part.  I also enjoyed the fact that I speak enough Italian to communicate well with our area supervisor, who speaks no English.  This will avoid the awkward, and often incorrect, translations made by another of the dig people.

I think I will enjoy this.  I know I will be totally worn out at the end of every day, but I will enjoy the experience.  I wonder if I will want to do it again, but I think I won’t know until I can look back at the end and evaluate the experience as a whole.

I’ve made a new friend, my roommate Beth, who is amazing and also, possibly, the same person as me…  We have a wonderful time together, and thanks to her I don’t feel so lonely.  She is an intern on the site though, so she will only be staying until the 13th of July!  Then I am on my own for two weeks.  The boys I live with are alright…  one of them has been a little contentious lately, but staying out of their way is relatively easy.

Beth’s friend Jill, who lives here in Rome full-time, has invited me along to an American fourth of July celebration tomorrow…  I am excited to go!

I can’t wait to come home.  Love you all!

5 Responses to “Dig It.”

  1. Brittany July 1, 2007 at 1:51 am #

    Yay…. glad to hear your enjoying the dig! and that you are finally feeling well enough to participate in the dig…. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip!

  2. Bre July 1, 2007 at 9:39 am #

    Sounds like you are having an absolute blast!!!

  3. EinStern July 2, 2007 at 7:10 am #

    😀 Glad you’re having fuuunnnn!!!! Oh god… have fun being obnoxiously American in Italy! “It’s the 4th of July!!!” “Yeah, so… there’s also a fourth of June AND a fourth of August…” “No, but it’s the 4tttthhhhh of JULLLLYYYY!!!” hahaha… oh ‘Merrrr-ca, where we celebrate days of the month. Then again, we got that down good, Mexicans have Cinco de Mayo… and we capitalize on it. We don’t have to just have our holidays, we’ll have yours too! 😉 Have fun at the party!

  4. Lisa July 3, 2007 at 11:20 am #

    I’ve always wanted to go to Rome. Enjoy your trip and your 4th of July celebration.

  5. jessica July 3, 2007 at 7:38 pm #

    hey happy 4th! Glad you are enjoying rome and feeling better! Is it cool to add you to my blogroll? How’s the book coming?
    ciao!

Leave a Reply

