Welcome?

19 Jul

I’m home, and I have never been so glad to be somewhere in my life. Being home has made me realize exactly what a wonderful life I have here. Plus, Mr. Pants got teary-eyed about the baby at least twice yesterday, which was more than worth it.

My flight home was awful, as seems to be the case with any of my interactions with British Airways… here’s an important quiz to take to see if you too are an enemy of BA:

How to Tell if Your Airline Hates You: A Quick Quiz

When you board the plane, your seatmate:
A. doesn’t show.
B. sleeps the whole flight.
C. eats chips that smell like sweat.

When lunch is served, you get:
A. a wonderful pasta.
B. the Cottage Pie.
C. no choice. They’ve run out of options and you’re left with the chicken curry. The smell makes you queasy.

When you wake up from your nap, you smell:
A. the aromas of snack time.
B. someone’s expensive perfume.
C. big farts.

Around the halfway mark, when some people are going a bit stir-crazy, you are:
A. blissfully asleep.
B. snacking.
C. being run into every three minutes by a restless old woman with no sense of balance.

Your headphones don’t work! You get:
A. First class, right away!
B. apologies and a new seat.
C. ignored. Nine hours, no music or movies.

If you got mostly C’s, welcome to my world and I extend my deepest apologies!

So what, you might ask, did I do on my first full day home? Did I sleep in, eat a brownie, or hang out at home? Nope. I went to the dentist.

Dr. Dentist has been on my crap list for a while now. Way back in January, I went in for my cleaning and told her about a tooth that was giving me some pain. She looked at it and told me nothing was wrong. Two weeks ago, the filling in that tooth fell out. Cause I’m sure that happens all the time to teeth that are perfectly healthy.

I called and they told me to come in today. I got my regular cleaning, which was fine, and then I got some torture. The dentist came in, looked at my tooth, poked it with a metal hook (insert mental cursing here), and then she asked if I wanted to be numbed. I said I wasn’t comfortable with the risk to LS, so she gave me a temporary filling.

She wants me to come back in November, once I am solidly into my second trimester, to replace the filling. She gave me this big lecture about not blowing off the appointment. This irritated me for several reasons. First of all, as much as I HATE DESPISE ABHOR the dentist, I have never blown off an appointment. Secondly, if SOMEONE had listened to my complaints in January, maybe this never would have happened.

I am SO getting a new dentist!

In better news, I have my first baby appointment on August 10th!

3 Responses to “Welcome?”

  1. EinStern July 19, 2007 at 8:27 pm #

    HOORAHHHHH!!!!!! Can’t wait!!! Are they going to do a sonogram and take pictures???

    Also, WELCOME HOMMMMEEEEE!!!!!!!!!

  2. bastet3 July 20, 2007 at 10:03 am #

    1. Welcome home!! I’m sorry BA sucked for you, I think just about any trans-Atlantic flight is bound to suck though cause it’s so long and the seats are small and packed in so tight!

    2. That dentist is lame. Hear me, dentist! LAME!

    3. Ah, LS, you’re gonna be good times. I can’t wait until you find out if it’s a boy or girl so I can get my crochet on!

  3. Bre July 20, 2007 at 10:50 am #

    You’re home!! Hurray!

    That flight sounds absolutely miserable -that’s the one thing I’m wary about when it comes to flying! You just never know!!

Leave a Reply

