Amused: A cross-post

7 Aug

I am cheating and reposting this from the baby blog…

A good friend of mine, who I adore and whose parenting style I admire, recommended that I read the Girlfriends Guide to Pregnancy.  Of course, I ordered it used from Amazon and it should be here any day now.

There is also a daily journal that is written by the same author.  I chose not to get that because I have this blog and a regular journal, along with the journal of letters I am writing to the baby.

Anyway, I was reading about the journal on Amazon and I was SO amused by the user reviews!  Some people gushed about how wonderful the book was.  Others said things like “an angry rant about everything to do with pregnancy”, ‘an uneducated, opiniated author”, “nothing more than a reflection of the current childbirth culture in America… childbirth has become a consumer-driven industry and American women don’t want to feel any pain, don’t want to get messy and want to be able schedule their births”…..

Wait, I can schedule this thing?  But it gets better…

“for women who don’t really care about what is the best for the baby, but who do care how they look during pregnancy, and after it” — does anyone truly NOT care how they look during pregnancy?  Does anyone really believe this author is out to have us all drink and party to maintain our “cool”?

But this one was my personal favorite:  “My mother had seven children and not once did she complain about these very minor inconviences.  She had the last child when she was 42 years old. The only thing she ever did was cry a lot. If she had symptoms of morning sickness or anything else she never complained. Imagine your child having to hear how you had to”put your face on the cold tile in the bathroom after getting sick.” Not only does this insult me but women like my Mom who had multiple pregnancies and loved every minute of it. Get a life lady!”

Yes, because GOD FORBID your child discover that pregnancy is not a fabulous romp through the roses…  I know I would totally be scarred for life if my mother dared admit to having been ill!  Oh wait, she totally was and guess what?  I was glad to hear it.  All this tells me is that this poor woman, having her seven children, had no one to turn to and didn’t feel comfortable talking to her family about the reality of it.  Clearly it wasn’t all rosy if she cried all the time…

I don’t know.  I just think people take these things WAY too seriously.  Read the book.  Take what you want from it.  Move on.  Why does everything have to be so freaking serious?

Weirdos.

New goal: no more cursing like a sailor.  I figure if I start now, I might have broken the Potty Mouth habit by the time LS arrives.

10 Responses to “Amused: A cross-post”

  1. brandy August 7, 2007 at 2:40 pm #

    “The only thing she ever did was cry a lot” was the standout sentence for me. I mean, doesn’t that say something?? Dear god, the woman was CRYING! A LOT! I’m with you, people take this stuff way too seriously, it’s a book- and no one is holding a pistol to your head telling you that you have to read and agree to everything that’s discussed in it. (And I’m not sure why the weapon of choice had to be ‘pistol’. It just felt better than saying gun.)

  2. Wondy August 7, 2007 at 3:31 pm #

    I might have to join you in the pottymouth vow, I’m terrible. I favour the ‘F’ word above all others, and I’m thinking: not attractive.

    I agree with what you say about the book. It’s a book. Someone elses opinions form it. Take what you need and move along.

    Freaks.

    And not the good kinds…

  3. Tara August 7, 2007 at 3:31 pm #

    She probably cried all the time because she was depressed about not having anyone to talk to during her pregnancy. She had all these bottled up problems and emotions that had to come out somewhere. I think I would rather hear about how much my mom complained about her symptoms than about how she cried the whole time she was pregnant. That would make me sad. This is why I hate people, and yet, find them very amusing.

  4. Brandi August 7, 2007 at 3:59 pm #

    Haha. Wow – it sounds like a VERY lighthearted and humorous book that people are taking way too seriously. It looks like a great book and I can’t wait to read it. 🙂

    From what I hear, a lot of mothers are like this – especially on some message boards and communities online. Everyone is *so* opinionated about pregnancy/childbirth and if you think differently, you must be a horrible mother. *shrug*

  5. Jason Rohrblogger August 7, 2007 at 8:18 pm #

    I thought children were the CAUSE of potty mouth…

  6. roofun August 7, 2007 at 9:58 pm #

    This discussion seems to have cooled, How about trying this one on. When selling adopted children on EBAY, should there be a “buy it now” button?.. or simply begin bidding at .99 cents?

  7. Nicole August 7, 2007 at 10:16 pm #

    welcome to the guerrilla world of motherhood. put on your body armor, because people will take shots at anything!

    I am on a listserve for a local playgroup that sometimes shares some controversial topics. One woman prefaced her post with “Use this if it works for you. IF not, let it go peacefully.”

    I am trying to use that advice everyday.

  8. girlinthecrosswalk August 8, 2007 at 12:17 am #

    haha. Oh my, those people are tards.

    Anyways, just wanted to say you still have a good year and a half after LS is born before s/he starts learning those words! 😉 Pllllllenty of time to break that habit.

  9. Chica August 8, 2007 at 6:09 am #

    I totally agree with you on this. Why should women be censored like that? The reality of pregnancy should be celebrated – I can’t help but feel there is a misogynistic element in attempts to play down any hardship women suffer during pregnancy, giving birth, and during motherhood. Well said Heather! xx

  10. babychaos May 14, 2008 at 6:44 am #

    Absolutely agree with you. People like that should be strung up!

    The best friend’s guide to pregnancy is actually an excellent book packed with very good, straightforward, down to earth advice and it deals honestly with the way many normal well adjusted women may feel.

    The poor woman who cried a lot! With children and pregnancy it does seem, sadly, that most people completely mislay their sense of humour and proportion and worse they often never find them again afterwards. I’ve been going to wine tastings throughout mine – I spit the wine out so I reckon it’s my 1.5 units a week. It’s amazing the reactions I get… then again I’m an eighth French and it comes out in my attitude to diet, food and alcohol. In 1847 when a woman was given chloroform in child birth for the first time to dull the pain, a huge debate raged as to whether women should be given pain relief on the grounds that they were responsible for the fall of man – because obviously Adam couldn’t have decided of his own free will NOT to eat the apple once Eve had done it, could he – and therefore deserved to suffer. Clearly a lot of the people leaving those reviews are modern day protagonists of this view!

    I’ve not enjoyed being pregnant very much even though I’ve had a “straightforward” pregnancy. I don’t think I’m alone. Personally when people tell me to enjoy it because it’s the best time in my life I cringe. For me it’s involved feeling sick for three months and then another 3 months of excruciating pain but it’s nothing compared to some other ladies out there and frankly from what I’ve heard and read of other women’s experience I’ve suffered mere niggles and bizarrely I’m pleased to have got away without anything life threatening. But I’m amazed how many people assume I’m having a wonderful time, even after I’ve told them the pain levels are about the same as say… 3 days after you’ve broken your arm! The ones I really want to kill are the ones who tell me to “make the most of it”. Yeh, that’s right because it’s almost as much fun as having a bone graft! 😉

    I’m having to concentrate on de-potty mouthing, too as I tend to swear like a trooper and it would be a pity if my lovely son’s first word was “bollocks”!

    Cheers

    BC

Leave a Reply

