Furthering My Point

8 Aug

An article on MSN today is talking about how moms in this day and age have become obsessed with defending their own motherhood to the detriment of anyone with differing views.  I think this goes a long way toward explaining yesterday’s post about the book reviews.

Yummy Vs. Slummy

And the winner is … who cares? We’ve become narcissist mommies, obsessed with our parenting choices and defensive when confronted with others’.

Read the whole article HERE.

2 Responses to “Furthering My Point”

  1. christavswonderwoman August 8, 2007 at 1:40 pm #

    God, it’s supposed to be the most natural thing we do – when did it all get so complicated?

    I must admit, I am opinionated like you wouldn’t believe on the subject of chosing NOT to become a mother – I feel like I have to defend my choice not to have a baby – but actually, you’re right, who cares.

    You’re damned if you do, you’re damned if you don’t.

    You are lovely – and will be the most amazing, natural mother there is – screw everyone else.

  2. rainypete August 9, 2007 at 8:04 pm #

    I prefer not to defend my parenting choices and simply let my kids show what I’m made of. Sure I’m flabby and horribly out of fashion, but whenever I go anywhere I get compliments on my kids’ behaviour and manners so obviously the time I’m not wasting on the defense of my tactics and obsession on fashion and the like are paying off.

    I think he bigger problem is why does everyone obsess over what other people are doing when they can’t even figure out their own lives?? Not that I’m trying to start something, but really does it matter what another person chooses to do if it has no direct impact on you? Three cheers to you for being one of the people that see the madness floating around out there.

Leave a Reply

