SuperPoke!

15 Aug

I had my initial bloodwork done today.  They took a ridiculous amount of blood 😦 but honestly it didn’t hurt too badly.  As long as I remember to tell them I am afraid of needles, the lab techs are usually really good about keeping me distracted.  Of course now my arm is going to feel funny ALL DAY!

I’m just glad I wasn’t one of the other women, who were both there for glucose tests.  I will have to get one at some point to determine my risk factors for gestational diabetes, but they don’t sound like fun.  The normal one is just a gross tasting drink followed by a single giving of blood.  However, if you have certain results from that one, you get the THREE HOUR TEST.

Yeah, sounds good huh?  You give blood, then drink the gross stuff.  Then you wait an hour and give blood again.  Another hour, another draw.  And another.  Four draws in one day.  I am sick at the thought.

The saddest part is that I was telling the lab tech that I survive these things by constantly telling myself it is best for the baby, and she replied that I would be surprised by how many women that wouldn’t work for.  Huh?  Who on earth gets pregnant and then doesn’t care about the kid?  Why did you do it then?  Why are you having it then?

The tech was telling me that one woman refused to have the second glucose test, despite this meaning her baby might be HUGE (a concern for her as well) and also possibly anemic.  Then another woman refused to have the first round of blood tests, which test for life threatening things like hepatitis and compatible Rh factors.

Some people are evil.  This is the conclusion I have come to.

4 Responses to “SuperPoke!”

  1. Brittany August 15, 2007 at 10:52 pm #

    wow… some people suck!

  2. Chica August 16, 2007 at 9:37 am #

    I feel for you – I HATE blood tests, but I have it down to a fine art now, I go in and tell them which vein works and that I might faint (some blood pressure thing I have), I’m all like “Deal with it!”

    Unfortunately not everyone is as great a mum as you, but I do think a lot of people just convince themselves they don’t need it because they’re too afraid, they just bury their heads in the sand and think it’ll all be okay.

    Well done to you for being so brave! xx

  3. Brandee August 16, 2007 at 1:04 pm #

    I suck at keeping up with blogs! Anyway, I HATED that glucose test. Actually, the drink wasn’t so bad, and I normally don’t have any problems with giving blood, but I passed out after that one. You’re going to be an awesome mommy, braving all this fun pregnancy stuff!!

  4. LazyLightning August 17, 2007 at 11:15 am #

    A tattoo artist once told me something that really stuck with me. When I was getting my tattoo, on my foot, which hurt all kinds of bad, he told me that if you’re feeling that bad bad pain, and you’re surviving it, you can think to yourself “this is the worst it gets and I’m handling it, so it cant be so bad.” Lame, I know, but it actually works for me in a lot of situations. Giving blood being one of them.

    That said, the last time I gave blood, the gal next to me, who was about my age, I guess had tiny veins and it took three nurses poking her over and over, asking her if she was OK, trying again and again with different needles trying to find her vein. THAT… I don’t think I’d be OK with. Thank heavens for my huge veins. 😉

Leave a Reply

