Tuesday’s Grey

21 Aug

Blah.

I’m tired today, and the weather is not helping things.  I know we need the rain, but it has been grey and cloudy for two days now and it is making me feel gloomy.  Plus, my office depends almost entirely on sunlight, so when it’s overcast I sit in a relatively dark space.

This morning, on my way in to work, I was having serious thoughts about my age.  I know I’m not old.  I am, however, closer now to thirty than to anything else…  except 28 and 29.  It’s odd because 30 is that age that, when you are young, seems like some sort of marker.  At 30 you will have things together.  At 30 your life will make sense.

The closer I get, the less likely this seems.  Honestly, I think I’m alright with that.   I won’t have everything put together or figured out, but I will have a family of my own, a job that pays the bills, and a sense of self that has only developed in the last year or two.  I’ll take it.

2 Responses to “Tuesday’s Grey”

  1. elizabethsheryl August 21, 2007 at 2:58 pm #

    “I won’t have everything put together or figured out, but I will have a family of my own, a job that pays the bills, and a sense of self that has only developed in the last year or two. I’ll take it. ”

    I think having that great attitude is something that most people never get, at any age. 🙂

  2. Chica August 22, 2007 at 11:46 am #

    Maybe we should never have EVERYthing put together or figured out, because… boring? xxx

Leave a Reply

