Wishing and Waiting and Hoping

22 Aug
  • Mr. Pants is working late tonight and I am missing him! He just called (at 8:30) to say he was on his way home, which will put him here around 9pm. He almost never works this late, so I can hardly complain when he does. But still, I miss him! I’ve been promised fried chicken for dinner tomorrow to make up for it though, which is SO worth it.
  • I cannot wait for Fall. I have decided to try ushering it in with my blog banner, but something tells me it won’t work. This week has been unseasonably cool here, and it is just making me itch for the cool days and pretty colors.
  • This Friday is pay day, which is always welcome. This week’s is even better since our bills are all paid for the month, so the money can all go to extra payments, and probably a little bit of FUN!
  • I’ve officially applied for the Library Science Master’s program at Drexel. Being an online program, it offers exactly the flexibility I will need as a working mom! Of course, nothing is certain. For starters, I haven’t even completed the application yet (still sending in transcripts and the like). Once that is done, it will be several weeks, or maybe even months before I hear anything. And then finally, I have to wait on news about funding. I can’t go if it is going to cost us anything at all, so if I don’t get enough in the way of scholarships, grants, etc… then I am out of luck. For now, fingers crossed.
  • I’m thinking about taking swimming lessons. Weird, huh? I don’t really know how to swim though. I mean, I can paddle around, and I could tread water long enough to save my life… provided the rescuers were in speedboats and less than thirty feet away… but I would really like to know how to really swim! So, I am checking out classes and pools and such in what will be our new area… Updates to come.
6 Responses to “Wishing and Waiting and Hoping”

  1. bastet3 August 23, 2007 at 12:00 pm #

    I have been liking the cool weather too and wish it would stay like this until December!

    Whooo Drexel!! I think you’ll get accepted pretty quickly, cause they’ll try to get you signed up for the fall semester. I’m excited that you’re going for the same program, now we can maybe have some classes together!!!! YAY!!

  2. Tara August 23, 2007 at 1:48 pm #

    That was funny… “provided the rescuers were in speedboats and less than thirty feet away.” That’s about how well I swim, too. 🙂

    Love the fall colors. I, too, can’t wait.

    My dad went to Drexel. Cool school. Hope you get what you want!

  3. Brandi August 23, 2007 at 2:58 pm #

    I like the new layout. Fall cannot come quickly enough! Enjoy your fried chicken tonight. Mmmm! 🙂

  4. elizabethsheryl August 24, 2007 at 2:09 am #

    Swimming is great, you should really take some classes and feel comfortable with the water. I used to be on a swim team when I was in elementary school and am a “strong” swimmer, although I need to do it a lot more. The beneficial thing is that when you are swimming it’s all-over resistance so it’s great exercise for the whole body and great for toning but it doesn’t put any pressure on joints. I keep trying to get my mom (who has rhumatoid arthritis) to swim but nooo. Anyway, you can just “run” in place in the shallow end and be doing good for your body..so it’s great for the latter end of pregnancy (and you stay cool!)

    ok, wow, I sound like an infomercial. I just really love swimming. hahaha.

  5. Lisa August 26, 2007 at 5:55 pm #

    My stepmom and a ton of my friends all went to Drexel. Does this mean you would move to the Philadelphia area?

  6. Sarah August 28, 2007 at 2:30 pm #

    Library school?! Really! Why, I just got my Masters in Library and Information Science in May 2006! And one of my co-workers graduated from Drexel in May 2007!

    Oh, and FYI, several of my classmates were either a) pregnant or b) mothers to a small swarm of children under four, so I know that it can be done!

    If you’re looking for scholarships, check out the American Library Association’s website: http://www.ala.org/Template.cfm?Section=scholarships

    They gave me a schlarship, and it made a world of difference in terms of tuition and being able to actually own a computer.

    Good luck and keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

