Cleaning is Fun?

27 Aug

Mr. Pants and I were lying in bed last night marveling at our good luck. How many people can say that they like spending time with their significant other SO much that they look back on a weekend characterized almost entirely by house cleaning and still feel like they had fun?

In preparation for the Big Move, in three weeks, we spent the weekend shampooing the carpets, sorting out our clothes, making a pile of books to donate to the library, and vacuuming. I know, we live lives of excitement and danger. We also made some Modern Art:

08.26.07 Modern Sculpture

We also spent a couple of hours at his company Crab Feast on Saturday:

08.25.07 Crab Feast

Last night we celebrated our cleaning frenzy with a nice dinner out.Ā  All in all, it really was a nice, pleasant weekend.Ā  We had fun!Ā  Who has fun cleaning?

Now if only I could kick this morning’s headache, everything would be that much better!

8 Responses to “Cleaning is Fun?”

  1. Tara August 27, 2007 at 11:31 am #

    The actual cleaning is not the fun part, spending time with someone you are head over heels for and feels the same for you is the fun part. Plus the results of the cleaning make you feel good too. I’m glad the angry cow is gone and that you had a wonderful weekend. Hope your head feels better.

  2. KennethSF August 27, 2007 at 12:36 pm #

    I’ve seen installation art pieces that look less substantive and infinitely worse at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art.

    Tara is right. Spending time with someone you like can make the mundane exciting. I’d be thrilled if the cute neighbor I’m having a crush on asks me to help her clean her house. Sweat, banter, laughter, a few accidental pushes and shoves, physical proximity … who knows where this can lead to, right? šŸ˜‰

  3. Suzie August 27, 2007 at 4:40 pm #

    since I live alone I’ve hired a housekeeper now that’s fun house cleaning. I go to work and come home to a clean house!

  4. Tara J. August 27, 2007 at 5:11 pm #

    I quote “Crazy For You,” a musical that in one part made fun of “Les Miserables”: It looks like French revolution. (your chairs… look like the barracade…. anyhoo)

    Glad you had fun. I used to enjoy doing simple things with the man. Then he became a simple man and I divorced him. ha.

    šŸ™‚

    Hi LS!!! Hi PANTS! All well in sushi world. Inspiring. šŸ™‚

  5. Brittany August 27, 2007 at 10:10 pm #

    Yay! good to hear mad cow is gone… I cant believe that your moving in three weeks… cant wait to come visit the new place!

  6. girlinthecrosswalk August 28, 2007 at 1:06 am #

    haha. wow guys! i cleaned all weekend too. šŸ˜‰ i’m glad you enjoy it together though! <3’s! If you need help moving give me a call!!!
    Application:
    Skills: very good at heavy lifting

  7. elizabethsheryl August 28, 2007 at 5:13 am #

    Oh man, that crab looked delish!

    I know what you mean about having fun doing the mundane stuff. The hubby and I go grocery shopping together and we love it. We make fun of each other in the aisles and decide together what to make for dinners and remind each other if we forget something we usually like to eat (I’m always forgetting the yogurt which only I eat)..I really want to keep this up when we have kids, it can be a special time for us to just walk around and talk.

  8. rainypete August 29, 2007 at 7:46 am #

    I was buried in the midst of a festival all week (setup) and weekend. Sure it wasn’t cleaning but I managed to enjoy myself anyhow.

Leave a Reply

