Labor Free Weekend

2 Sep

So far, this weekend has been fabulous.  I spent Friday night at my parents’ house, where I got the chance to have dinner with my best friend and see some of my family.  I had lunch with my Mom on Saturday afternoon, then came home.

Saturday night, Mr. Pants and I went to see Stardust.

I LOVED the film, and so did he.   We both agreed that it was amazingly well written, original, well casted, and beautiful to see.  We were pleased.  It’s been a long time since we both loved a movie!  I recommend it even to people who don’t normally consider themselves to be fans of the fantasy/scifi genre.  It’s just that good.

Today we had brunch downtown and then went down to First Sunday.  It’s a street arts fair that is held on the first Sunday of every month from May through October.  We like going down to look at everything, but this time was even more fun because my favorite photographer was there again.  Bill Wierzalis is a photographic genius!  We got two prints from his Umbria series, and I am still hoping to get this one as well, maybe next time:

It was cool because he remembered us!  We have six of his photos now, plus one I bought as a holiday gift for a friend last year, so I suppose he HAS seen a lot of us!  He was super nice, as usual, and his prices are much better than some of the other photographers at the festival, and I don’t like them as much!  I imagine he will see plenty more of us in time…

Now we’re just hanging out at the house for a nice afternoon rest before heading back out to take some pictures around sunset.  We’ll probably have dinner out and then spend tomorrow cleaning and packing.  Not great fun, but it needs doing and will make moving that much easier!

Hope everyone’s weekend is as beautiful!  Now pardon me while I O.D. on grape Nerds.

2 Responses to “Labor Free Weekend”

  1. Bre September 2, 2007 at 4:33 pm #

    I really want to see Stardust – especially now that you’ve given it such rave reviews! The previews remind me of the Princess Bride a bit – an adventure, a love story, and an out-of-this-world adventure!! 🙂

  2. rainypete September 5, 2007 at 12:49 pm #

    Grape nerds, SciFi and photography! Sounds like my kind of weekend indeed. I’ll have to give Stardust a try then. It’s been a while since I’ve been impressed by a movie.

Leave a Reply

