He is The Boxer

6 Sep

Since Mr. Pants and I are moving in two weeks, I asked my coworkers to keep an eye out for good moving boxes. Our Director of Horticulture called me this afternoon to tell me that they go a whole shipment of plants in and had several sturdy boxes for me. Since the garden staff comes in early, she was leaving at three but would leave the boxes for me next to the greenhouse. This area is technically accessible to the public, but has a big heavy chain across the opening to keep people out. I should also mention that this area is on a tiny, one-way side street nowhere near the big tourist spots.

I pulled up after work and was loading the boxes into my car when a guy in a huge maroon SUV pulls up.

GUY: Hey, is that all of them?
MY BRAIN: Whu-huh?
ME: Yeah.
GUY: You’re going to take them all?
MY BRAIN: Yes, I am taking all FIVE boxes. I’m mean like that.
ME: Yeah.
MY BRAIN: You know, maybe you should tell this guy that stuff left here is not, in fact, for public use.
ME: I work here.
GUY: So I can’t have any?
MY BRAIN: Please die now.
ME: No.

He drove away, and I couldn’t help thinking about how weird the whole exchange was. I would never drive by this area and think anything there was up for grabs. Also, the way the boxes were stacked made it look like they might still have stuff in them. I know people are opportunists, and I could see him trying to take them if they had been out there for a couple of days or something. At most, they had been there for one hour.

The worst part is the certain knowledge that if I had taken one more minute to leave work, that guy would have totally hijacked my boxes!

4 Responses to “He is The Boxer”

  1. Jason Rohrblogger September 6, 2007 at 8:06 pm #

    Boxjackers! Nothing worse.

  2. Bre September 7, 2007 at 12:41 am #

    Gross! Also, I quite enjoy how polite your mouth was, despite how gobsmacked you were!

    Also, I am now the official spokesperson for the boxes they ship eggs to the supermarket in. Seriously, go to the grocery store and beg for them – they are SUBLIME!

  3. KennethSF September 7, 2007 at 4:31 am #

    When confronting a Boxer guy, always be Brief šŸ˜‰

  4. rainypete September 7, 2007 at 7:20 am #

    Welcome to the world of today. Sadly he probably wanted them because he thought they were full!

    Round these parts I hit up the local liquor shops for empty boxes since they have tons of them laying around. Sure my new neighbors probably thought I was an alcoholic but that just makes things more fun!

Leave a Reply

