How?

18 Sep

How am I more tired today, after coffee, than usual?

How do people control their baby excitement for nine (ten) whole months?

How can you be sure that whatever you want to name your child isn’t going to scar them for life?

How can people drive like they do and not wreck more often?

How come I crave things in shifts? Pineapple one week, buffalo chicken one week, sweet and sour chicken this week…

How on earth did I end up with such a good circle of friends and family?

How can I make a difference in the world?

And most importantly, how in the world does your heart hold it all? I am already so full of love for my wonderful family, amazing friends, and perfect PERFECT husband. Even the idea of a baby makes my heart feel all stretched to its limits. So how do you do it? How do you see and hold that perfect little person and not just burst?

6 Responses to “How?”

  1. Brandi September 18, 2007 at 1:06 pm #

    I’ve wondered almost every single one of those questions myself. It’s amazing how our heart and minds work. It constantly fascinates me. 🙂

    I hear ya about the driving bit. I’ve almost been in 5+ accidents in the last week. It’s maddening!

  2. Bre September 18, 2007 at 1:15 pm #

    I have no idea, but I have to say that just reading this post makes me grin!

  3. Tara September 18, 2007 at 1:27 pm #

    Maybe you were extremely tired and after coffee you are only a little tired.

    I don’t think it is possible and that is why mommies are so tired after they give birth, nine months of excitement is bound to wear you out.

    You just have to hope that it won’t, if you do it will give them something to talk about in therapy.

    I am with you on that, I’m convinced there are a lot of lucky idiots out there.

    My theory is that cravings are related to something you are lacking, once you get enough of the nutrient you are lacking your body moves onto telling you about another one.

    Because you are such a good family and friend.

    You do just by being in it.

    I think you just might, or like the grinch, your heart may grow three sizes that day.

  4. girlinthecrosswalk September 18, 2007 at 1:46 pm #

    caffine.

    They think about labor. 😉

    Whatever you name your child will be wonderful. Unless it’s something like Bertha Buttkiss, I’m sure he/she will survive. Don’t worry! 😉

    Because there are other people out there who are watching and avoid the collisions that would be caused by those morons.

    This is the stage when Little Sushi is going through pre-birth cultural development, you see: Hawaiian, Continental American, Asian…

    You’re an amazing person.

    By just being you. You are going to be the best mom ever and that’s a start. There will be a child who feels loved and cherished. That changes the world right there.

    It won’t burst. It will just get so much bigger.

    You are awesome. It’s incredible how much love you have in you for everyone and then on top of that all the love you already have for LS. <3’s!

  5. rainypete September 19, 2007 at 10:26 am #

    You’ll be shocked how easily it all fits in once the wee’un arrives. It’s all a little overwhelming at first but not long after you can’t imagine it any other way.

    It may seem a little cornball but I believe that, if you do it right, you give a little bit of your heart to yiour children. They feel that love, bask in it, nurture it and encourage it to grow until they feel compelled to give it along as well. This, in answer to your other question, is how we try to make the world a better place.

  6. brandy September 19, 2007 at 9:40 pm #

    ahhh I love reading a post where the questions being asked are all happy, thoughtful and grateful ones. Sounds like you are in a good spot lady. Way to go! (As for the craving food in shifts, I don’t understand how it happens, but I can totally relate, and I’m not pregnant!)

Leave a Reply

