Our Butterfly

8 Oct

Aodin R. Hurd was born at 4:02 am on Sunday, October 7th, 2007. His strong, tiny heart had ceased to beat hours beforehand, just one and a half days before his nineteenth week of gestation. He weighed 9.6 oz and had beautiful, big hands and perfect tiny feet. He was beautiful.

His father and I, as well as my parents, were given the precious opportunity to say our goodbyes to him while I held his tiny, perfect body in my arms for the first and the last time.

Our hearts are broken, but Aodin’s life will be celebrated forever. He is our son. I am his mother.

Thank you all for your sweet thoughts and fervent prayers. I firmly believe that he awaits us in heaven, wrapped securely in the arms of the loved ones we have lost over the years. No child will be better kept, and in his short time here he knew only love. Not a moment of pain or fear or sadness ever crossed his sweet, perfect heart.

Healing is a process that we are only just beginning. The hospital sent us home with a beautiful memory box including a butterfly bracelet, symbolizing new life flying away, and some beautiful pictures of our son. When I am stronger, I will post them.

For now, every time we see a butterfly, we will consider it a tiny hug from our tiny, perfect son.

20 Responses to “Our Butterfly”

  1. girlinthecrosswalk October 8, 2007 at 12:06 pm #

    <3.

  2. shockingfish October 8, 2007 at 12:14 pm #

    My thoughs are with you and your family at this time.

    Paul

  3. Wondy October 8, 2007 at 2:49 pm #

    I love you and I love Aodin. This is also the most beautiful thing I have ever read and my heart breaks for you. Please know we are all here and want to be part of your healing process.

    Always, C x

  4. brandy October 8, 2007 at 3:40 pm #

    Heather… there are no words to describe how sorry I am for what you gone through. I hope that you surround yourself with those who care about you, and keep the thought of Aodin close to you forever. I am sending you love and want you to know that you and yours are in my thoughts.

  5. Caryn October 8, 2007 at 3:43 pm #

    Oh God, Heather. I have no words… I am so, so sorry for your loss.
    I love you. *hug*

  6. Not So Little Sister October 8, 2007 at 4:25 pm #

    Oh Heather. My heart goes out to you. I hope you and your husband continue to heal. You are in my thoughts. I’ll think of Aodin when I see a butterfly too, if that’s okay…

  7. Shan October 8, 2007 at 4:56 pm #

    I’m a stranger … wandered in from Twiterpated, and there is nothing in the universe I can say that will sound right or be supportive enough. I’m horribly, terribly sorry and I wish my words could adequately express how badly I feel for you and your family.

  8. Jason Rohrblogger October 8, 2007 at 9:41 pm #

    Ah, Heather. This one is a heart breaker. Aodin will be missed…

  9. Brandi October 8, 2007 at 10:16 pm #

    I love you, Aaron and Aodin. Never forget that. ❤

  10. Nicole October 8, 2007 at 10:58 pm #

    He is lucky to have only known love and beauty. Sweet baby boy.

    My thoughts and prayers continue to be with you and yours.

  11. bastet3 October 9, 2007 at 11:39 am #

    I’m so sorry that you and yours had to go through this, Heather. Aodin couldn’t have had better parents.

  12. Lisa October 9, 2007 at 12:44 pm #

    Heather, what a beautiful post about such a heartbreaking situation. My heart goes out to you and your husband. I hope you are both ok.

  13. Stacy October 9, 2007 at 1:01 pm #

    I’m here from Wondy’s blog…and I know, no matter what anyone says or does, how bad this hurts your heart and your soul.

    I have been there…my child was around 15 weeks along when I lost him.

    Even though I realize I should be comforting you right now (even though you don’t know me), your words comfort me.

    I firmly believe that he awaits us in heaven, wrapped securely in the arms of the loved ones we have lost over the years.”

    I believe that’s true.

    I am so sorry you had to experience this. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

  14. Tara October 9, 2007 at 4:58 pm #

    Heather, I’m so so sorry. Wishing you and yours peace.

  15. hot coffee girl October 9, 2007 at 10:01 pm #

    Heather, sweet girl. Know that I am thinking of you and your family. I am so sorry.

  16. DutchBitch October 10, 2007 at 3:03 am #

    Over here by way of Rainy Pete. I am so sorry for your loss. I wish there was more we could do or say…

  17. Kyla Bea October 10, 2007 at 1:48 pm #

    I’m so sorry for your loss and wish I could send you guys some food to help you in these early days. You and your family are in my family’s thoughts. Your sweet boy is lucky to have such loving parents.

  18. sineadollie October 13, 2007 at 8:37 pm #

    oh heather, i’m so sorry for your loss, that post is the most beautiful word you could have said.

    i was in the same place 12 years ago at 22 weeks, i still think of grainne, but know she is in a good place

    some people say times’ a healer and a gallon of tea is great, just do what you need to and what feels right.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Butterflies « Wondy Woman - October 8, 2007

    […] the support she can get at the moment, from friends and family.  Yet out of her sadness came the most beautiful post I have ever […]

  2. The most beautiful thing ever written. « Girl in the Crosswalk - October 8, 2007

    […] The most beautiful thing ever written. 09 October 07 Filed under: Uncategorized — girlinthecrosswalk @ https://yummysushipajamas.wordpress.com/2007/10/08/our-butterfly/ […]

Leave a Reply

