I Steal Things… and Create Them Too

13 Nov

Like this, which I stole from Sitting Still:

some days are like this

some days you wake up and wish
you could go back in time
or somehow move forward
but instead you just get up
and stumble in circles for a bit
disoriented, confused
and then you talk to a friend
who understands
who brings the fuzziness just a bit closer to focus
who tells you to put one foot in front of the other
and then you walk out the door to find
two other friends, headed out for a walk
and you realize that
sometimes
if you take a step
and then another
you can move.

Now, for some completely original thoughts:

What if we knew….  what if we knew that the woman who just cut us off in traffic had lost her job?  What if we knew that the man cutting the line at the store was in a hurry to get home to design the perfect date?  What if that mean guy who lives upstairs isn’t mean, but works three jobs to keep his kids fed?

I’m not saying mean/rude/inconsiderate is okay.  I’m just saying that there is no way to know what is going on in someone else’s life and maybe, just maybe we should show them all a little more love.  Will our day really be ruined by waiting five more minutes, driving one car back, or saying hello even if it is never said in return?

I think showing kindness to the people you see every day can do only good, even if you never receive anything from them in return.  Just my two cents…

5 Responses to “I Steal Things… and Create Them Too”

  1. Nicole November 13, 2007 at 7:56 pm #

    thank you for showing me grace.

  2. christavswonderwoman November 13, 2007 at 9:53 pm #

    Very true, and something I have to remind myself about sometimes.

    It reminds me of the concept of ‘paying it forward’, just like in the movie of the same name, we should do good things for people for no other reason than we want to in the hope that those same people then go and do something good themselves, and so on…

    Good point, H – love you as always!

  3. girlinthecrosswalk November 14, 2007 at 12:05 am #

    I love that someone else thinks this way too. You’re wonderful. 🙂

  4. rainypete November 14, 2007 at 8:11 am #

    It drives my poor wife nuts that I do this all the time. I give people the benefit of the doubt even if they are rude/inconsiderate. When asked why I am nice to “mean” people I simply offer the rely that just because they are rude that doesn’t mean I have to be. If I let them get to me then they win, and that is not an acceptable outcome for me. I love these two cents and think we need to find a way to breed them so we can spread nice thoughts and consideration around the world like some sort of happy plague.

  5. Brandi November 14, 2007 at 12:55 pm #

    Wow. You’re so right, Heather. Thank you for bringing this to my attention this morning – I really needed it. I need to read this every day. You are a woman who should be quoted, H. ❤

Leave a Reply

