Checkout Line

3 Dec

Okay, I have officially solved the dirty hippy hair vs. body friendly debate with this:

Aveda Scalp Benefits shampoo and conditioner! It rates a 3 on the Skin Deep database, which is the best rating I could find for any of the shampoos my sister recommended. After using it, I am back to normal, shiny, healthy looking hair and I don’t feel badly about the rating either. So compromise is the answer, in all things I think, but especially in terms of my haircare!

In other news, I spent the weekend mostly alone as Aaron was working on a major project. He did come home for dinner both days, and I went to his office for lunch, but I missed him all the same. The absence did, however, give me lots of opportunities to get things done around the house. I unpacked another box of books in the guest room, did tons of dishes and laundry, created what Aaron has dubbed the “creepy painting“, made some ornaments for our tiny tree (still not up), discovered a cheap-yet-decent new wine at the store, and made these:
12.2.07 Stockings 1

I was really pleased with how the stockings turned out. I mean yes, they totally look handmade and a little amateur, but at least they have a personal touch to them that way! I made one for us and one for my parents, which will go to their house this weekend for:

Gobblemas!

GobblemasWhat’s that you say? Is that a poorly photoshopped picture of me in a Santa hat with turkey feather? Why yes, thanks for asking!

Since my parents are abandoning us at the holidays moving to Florida on the 12th, and we are way too close a family to miss out on our usual holiday celebrations, this year we are instituting Gobblemas!

You know how the meal between breakfast and lunch gets to be “brunch?” Well now the holiday between Thanksgiving and Christmas gets to be Gobblemas! We will be convening at my parents’ house for the last time this coming Saturday, where we will exchange Christmas presents TWO WEEKS EARLY, eat too much food, and generally manage to stretch out the holiday season a little! I am looking forward to it, though I am not sure my parents’ gifts will have arrived in time. Just in case, I printed out pictures to box and wrap…

Leave it to me and my crazy family to make a non-traditional holiday season into a super fun, absolutely crazy, totally unique holiday of our very own!

11 Responses to “Checkout Line”

  1. brandy December 3, 2007 at 11:55 am #

    The stockings are beautiful and I think gobblemas is a great idea. Also, the Aveda shampoo is one that I’m going to have to check out. I love how their stuff smells!

  2. meg December 3, 2007 at 1:57 pm #

    I love the idea of Gobblemas. That is too good. I think the stockings turned out really well. And I’m glad your parents are getting one too. Have a great time at your their house.

  3. Coggy December 3, 2007 at 3:20 pm #

    I love Aodin’s stockings they do not look amateur at all! You’ve made me feel like a real Scrooge now, Christmas is cancelled this year in our house. Maybe next year I’ll make J an ornament for the tree.

  4. Bre December 3, 2007 at 3:26 pm #

    It’s just wacky enough to be the perfect holiday!

  5. girlinthecrosswalk December 3, 2007 at 8:23 pm #

    HAPPY GOBBLEMAS!!!!!!! 🙂

  6. christavswonderwoman December 3, 2007 at 10:53 pm #

    Thanks for the recommendations – I am looking to invest more in my beauty regime, once I can afford to – and these are great. Also, Gobblemess is going to be amazing! Can I come?

  7. irunwithscissors December 3, 2007 at 11:31 pm #

    YAY for Aodin’s stockings, clean hair and GOBBLEMAS!!! Cant wait to see you sis! love ya!

  8. c. December 3, 2007 at 11:57 pm #

    The stockings turned out so well. I love the butterfly appliques you chose. I’ve developed this thing for butterflies recently that I never had before.

    Merry Gobblemas to your and yours…

  9. Brandi December 4, 2007 at 6:38 pm #

    Gobblemas! Hahaha. 🙂 That’s hilarious. I love you, girl!

  10. rainypete December 5, 2007 at 7:30 am #

    Gobblesmas sounds like it rocks! Have a good time and try to ease up on teh Joe Joe’s so you can get some turkey in. I’m glad you found a shampoo that worked for you though I’m sure if you wanted to rock the crazy bag lady hair that you could.

  11. Tara December 10, 2007 at 3:31 pm #

    WHAT?!?!!? How was I not consulted on the move? Did they not take me seriously when I said they couldn’t move? I’m sad. I hope you had a fabulous time with them this weekend. Harry Gobblemas or is it Meppy Gobblemas?

Leave a Reply

