Holiday Cheer

6 Dec

Today, as I was pulling through the drive-through for coffee, (god bless whoever thought up a Starbucks drive-through), the guy handing me my coffee looked like he was having one of those days.  You know, the ones where nothing is going right?

I thanked him for my coffee and gave him a big, genuine smile.  That was all it took.  The grumpy mask gave way completely to one of the most heart-warming smiles I have ever seen.  It was wonderful.  It made my morning better, and I would like to think it made his better as well.

So today, when you’re out and about, smile like you mean it.  Someone might need it.

7 Responses to “Holiday Cheer”

  1. c. December 6, 2007 at 9:49 am #

    Send one my way. I need it. I need it.
    I’m always so impressed with you, H. Your happy spirit is infectious.

  2. girlinthecrosswalk December 6, 2007 at 12:08 pm #

    🙂

  3. Bre December 6, 2007 at 3:00 pm #

    This post made me smile all day (so far!)

  4. meg December 6, 2007 at 4:49 pm #

    I’m not doing too good with the smiles these days…but I recently had the guy at the coffee shop call me sweetheart and that did make me smile. A genuine smile. And, yes, you are right, smiles are a good thing.

  5. christavswonderwoman December 6, 2007 at 7:10 pm #

    I remembered this post earlier today as I was about to lose my temper at a sarcastic company, I think she nearly fainted – but she definitely smiled back!

  6. christavswonderwoman December 6, 2007 at 7:15 pm #

    sarcastic customer, that is supposed to read!

  7. rainypete December 7, 2007 at 7:35 am #

    Everybody needs it. The biggest problem with people is that they take things too seriously and then take it out on others. I used to disarm customers when I was in retail with a smile…..freaked them right out.

Leave a Reply

