Love You Forever

6 Dec

A mother held her new baby and very slowly rocked him back and forth, back and forth, back and forth. And while she held him, she sang:

I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always,
As long as I’m living
my baby you’ll be.

Today, on My Resurfacing, I read something beautiful.  One of my all-time favorite books as a kid, and still now in some ways, is Robert Munsch’s Love You Forever.  My mom used to read it to us as kids and I always loved the beautiful message.  Now I love it even more, knowing that Mr. Munsch and his wife suffered the loss of two babies who were stillborn.  Apparently, the book was inspired by those two angel babies.  Now it has even more meaning for me and my family.  So thanks, Mr. Munsch, for taking your pain and turning it something beautiful to put out into the world.

To my sweet, precious little Aodin, though I know I don’t have to say it:

I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always.  As long as I’m living, and so far beyond that, my (perfect, beautiful) baby you’ll be.  Thank you for choosing us.  We miss you. 

9 Responses to “Love You Forever”

  1. christavswonderwoman December 6, 2007 at 11:11 pm #

    That is beautiful, I love the message too.

  2. sugarplumsmom December 6, 2007 at 11:16 pm #

    I got that book at my baby shower. I still can’t read it without crying.

  3. brandy December 6, 2007 at 11:55 pm #

    I’ve got to hear Robert speak a few times through various teaching and speaking engagements and hearing him talk about his life and inspirations for writing was definitely moving. It’s a favourite book of mine too!

  4. Jason Rohrblogger December 7, 2007 at 12:03 am #

    When I was 19-years-old my mother came home from the grocery store. She said, “here, I got something for you,” and handed me the book “I’ll Love You Forever.” I replied, “Mom, I’m nineteen years old.” She said, “Yeah, I didn’t realize that. I saw this book in the checkout line and forgot that you are nineteen. You’ll always be my baby.” My mom is gone now, but I still have that book.

  5. girlinthecrosswalk December 7, 2007 at 1:17 am #

    This is beautiful Hea.

    P.S. I know this story. 🙂

  6. rainypete December 7, 2007 at 7:34 am #

    One of my favourite stories, and as luck would have it, it’s Megan’s too so we get to read it a lot. Who doesn’t love a B&E Mom with stalking tendencies? Seriously though, it is a great story.

    He is a bit of hero to me, what with the ADHD and the adversity not slowing him down one bit.

  7. Not So Little Sister December 7, 2007 at 9:31 am #

    All time favorite kid’s book. I’m glad it gives you some comfort.

  8. c. December 7, 2007 at 11:43 am #

    Beautiful, H. Just beautiful…

  9. irunwithscissors December 7, 2007 at 10:14 pm #

    Way to make me cry sis… but your right thats a beautiful story… i remember reading it too…

Leave a Reply

