I Am Silent

23 Dec

We saw I Am Legend yesterday after having a nice, low-key lunch at my Mother-in-law’s house.  The movie was… traumatic.  I read the book a couple of years ago and thought it was pretty good, so we both wanted to see the film when it came out.

All in all, the film is (not surprisingly) relatively far removed from the book in terms of story line.  All the same, it was a decent scary movie with lots of jump-out-of-the-bushes-and-scare-you moments.  I really don’t think it was the right movie for me to see though.  I don’t want to give anything away, but there is a very sad moment in the middle of the movie involving a death, and I just cried and cried and cried…  I think it was just bad timing for me.

So last night we came home, made a buffalo chicken pizza, ate cookies, and drank some fantastic wine.  I am feeling much better, but I still have that overriding sense of melancholy that I thought I had gotten rid of.  I knew the holidays would be tough, but I was hoping for the “tough” to be mixed in with at least a little bit of merry or jolly.  Maybe it is still coming.  Maybe I will magically wake up on Christmas morning and be full of holiday spirit.  I sure hope so…

4 Responses to “I Am Silent”

  1. Caryn December 23, 2007 at 11:38 pm #

    I saw that movie the other day and also thought it was just… traumatic. That scene you’re talking about…? I cried and cried, too. In fact, James and I almost left after that scene because it bothered us so much.

    I hope the next few days bring you some happy thoughts and joyous moments. *hugs*

  2. Ruby December 24, 2007 at 10:03 am #

    *hug* Hope the next few days go smoothly and you do wake up tomorrow morning full of holiday cheer and make merry.

  3. meg December 26, 2007 at 4:31 pm #

    I went to see this yesterday. Thanks for the head’s up on the traumatic scene. I cried and cried too, but at least I knew it was coming. Overall, I liked the movie.

  4. girlinthecrosswalk December 26, 2007 at 8:31 pm #

    I saw this movie. Are you talking about the dog? Oh god. I couldn’t even stand it. Wait I hope I didn’t just blow the movie for anyone. But, that was the saddest scene in the whole world. Btw, wtf on the cancer curing medicine that turns people into zombie dark man eating creatures?! Are they trying to say to stop trying to cure cancer?! What was WRONG with these movie making people?!

Leave a Reply

